What router? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 195
Default What router?

Whats a really good wireless router for home? 2 comps and 1 laptop connecting wirelessly and an xbox 360 connecting through CAT 5 ( Ethernet ) cables? Price range.. $50-200
__________________

Sidious1120 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 12:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

D-Link

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127028
You can use a PCMIA wireless adapter for the laptop and wireless adapters for the PC's.
I dont think a Xbox can use wireless, but I may be wrong.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 195
Default

We jsut use the wireless thing built into the laptop and a 802.11 USR for the desktop comp. Xbox can use wireless but i just use ethernet cable
Sidious1120 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 195
Default

I had my eye on this one to any good?

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...est%5Fcookie=1
Sidious1120 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sidious1120
I had my eye on this one to any good?

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...est%5Fcookie=1

I have that one
And yes, it's very good; works like a charm. I've never had a problem with it, and my house'll have 5 connected to it at any given time and it'll still run flawlessly. Imho, can't beat it for the price ^.^
Camden is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 195
Default

And i can have atleast 2 Ethernet cables connected to it ( xbox on pc )?

The one i use now is Blitzz BWA721 which keeps messing up for me
__________________

Sidious1120 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.