What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2010, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

After doing some reading and asking friends, I finally decided to purchase the GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB to compliment my new AMD 1055T. Not sure what would be the best RAM in this scenario...

What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Several sources are stating that AMD is not designed to work well with anything higher than 1333Mhz...that sounds a bit strange to me...why would AMD even consider manufacturing such a chip?

Then, after already purchasing the AMD 1055T, I read this shocking statement:

"The Memory Controller on the AM3 CPU's is, by design, set for 1333 Mhz memory modules or slower. You are better off not trying to run your RAM above 1333 Mhz when using an AM3 Phenom or Athlon CPU.
If you do so, you run the risk of system instability and even damaging the Memory Controller on the CPU. If you do manage to get your RAM running over 1333 Mhz, your system can appear to be fine and might even pass Memtest and other benchmarking utilities successfully. However, AMD have discovered that, in certain scenarios, the system may fall over after a period of use, depending on system usage and if you are stressing the CPU. This normally indicates a problem with the Memory Controller and you may need to replace your CPU if this happens."

To be totally honest with you, if the above statement is true, I feel shocked, disappointed, and quite reluctant to even break the seal on my new AMD 1055T box.

Is this statement BS or is it based upon fact and reality?

If it is true that AMD chips do not work well with RAM above 1333Mhz, and that I can actually cause irreparable damage, then what would you recommend?

I'd appreciate some good advice on this matter.

Thanks,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

If you have the northbridge speed at 2400-2600MHz it will be able to take advantage of DDR3-1600
But anything more is a waste on Phenom II chips. Lower latencies tend to have more of an effect.

I have 8GB of this RAM in my PC (1090T @ 4.2, NB @ 2600)
It's running at 6-8-6-18 1T @ 1.6V
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

I think this should do well...

You'll probably want to wait for comments from other people. I'm not quite sure what is good RAM wise, but I've heard G. Skills makes really good RAM. Once again, wait until someone else posts.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yerfdog View Post
I think this should do well...
DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 @ 1.5V; It's pretty low-end.
What you can expect from it: it works and it's cheap

The ECO RAM I posted is quite good value. It gets 7-8-7-24 at 1.35V as opposed to 1.6V you normally see with RAM that has those timings.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 @ 1.5V; It's pretty low-end.
What you can expect from it: it works and it's cheap

The ECO RAM I posted is quite good value. It gets 7-8-7-24 at 1.35V as opposed to 1.6V you normally see with RAM that has those timings.
Oh, right, the timings... Hm...
Would 7-7-7-21 be better for $99.99?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

I'm running these:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-4GBRM
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Trotter,

Long time no talk to you! How are you and what's new in your life there? Great job on this new forum look. You guys are definitely on the ball!

Thanks for replying. Ok, I looked at the specs and reviews at the Egg on the G.SKILL Ripjaws Series you recommended and it sure is encouraging! They appear to have excellent reviews and best of all, the AMD'ers have great things to say about these sticks.

Do you mind if I ask you what type of rig and at what speed you are running these?

Last, are you placing your CPU at risk if/when you run these at 1600 mhz?

Thanks,

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 04:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yerfdog View Post
Oh, right, the timings... Hm...
Would 7-7-7-21 be better for $99.99?
It's 7-7-7-21 at 1.6V
the G.Skill ECO kit gets 7-8-7-24 at 1.35V, and is capable of 6-8-6-18 at 1.6V
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 09:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Trotter,

Long time no talk to you! How are you and what's new in your life there? Great job on this new forum look. You guys are definitely on the ball!

Thanks for replying. Ok, I looked at the specs and reviews at the Egg on the G.SKILL Ripjaws Series you recommended and it sure is encouraging! They appear to have excellent reviews and best of all, the AMD'ers have great things to say about these sticks.

Do you mind if I ask you what type of rig and at what speed you are running these?

Last, are you placing your CPU at risk if/when you run these at 1600 mhz?

Thanks,

Soar
Yeah, I'm still here.

My rig in in my sig: Phenom II x4 965, Asus M3A785TD-V EVO, EVGA GTX 260, those Ripjaws, Corsair 650W. I am currently running them at 1333 because I have some stuff running on my rig that I need to run uninterrupted for now, and then I will be bumping them up to their native speed of 1600.

No, there is no risk to the your CPU by bumping up the RAM. It is all done by the motherboard and does not affect the CPU whatsoever (other than to give it faster access to the RAM). Even mild overclocking doesn't really afffect a CPU as their lifespan is normally much longer than just about any other component; heavy overclocking may cause damage/shorten lifespans, but mild overclocking is like revving your car's engine.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: What RAM would ya recommend for my new AMD 1055T/GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 MB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Yeah, I'm still here.

My rig in in my sig: Phenom II x4 965, Asus M3A785TD-V EVO, EVGA GTX 260, those Ripjaws, Corsair 650W. I am currently running them at 1333 because I have some stuff running on my rig that I need to run uninterrupted for now, and then I will be bumping them up to their native speed of 1600.

No, there is no risk to the your CPU by bumping up the RAM. It is all done by the motherboard and does not affect the CPU whatsoever (other than to give it faster access to the RAM). Even mild overclocking doesn't really afffect a CPU as their lifespan is normally much longer than just about any other component; heavy overclocking may cause damage/shorten lifespans, but mild overclocking is like revving your car's engine.
Trotter,

Nice to hear from you again. Ok, thanks for placing my heart and mind at rest. I suppose we cannot believe everything we read. Nice rig you have there. Have a great day Trotter!

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PII x6 1055T 95w Review Muffin Man New Technology and Products 0 08-27-2010 08:18 AM
1055t bottlenecking 5870 ZorrosRage New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-09-2010 02:32 PM
I5 750 vs x6 1055T - With a twist izools New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-06-2010 11:36 PM
1055T or i5 750 (and other stuff) syrick New Systems | Building and Buying 15 04-26-2010 10:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.