what ram for a 680 mobo OC'ing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2007, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default what ram for a 680 mobo OC'ing

what ram for a 680 mobo for OC'ing would be good
__________________

raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

one word domintor
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

wow the end I thought you left.


What happened to your 4GB DOMINATOR PWNAGE QUADSLI X6800 AGEA PHYSICS O WAIT NO PCI SLOTS LOL OH WELL WHO CARES.

And no don't get the dominator.


Get some TeamGroup DDR2 800 off of tankguys.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

i forgot what ram i should i get i still dont under stand ram speed and all that
raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

If your not into overclocking just get some nice Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800.

If you are, give us a budget.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

my build right know is at 1200 without harddrives and cooling fans, so around 1500-1800
raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Lol, Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 is major overclocking memory.

If not overclocking, then just get some DDR2-533. If overclocking, do as Lord AnthraX says.

And I thought TheEnd left too. What a nasty surprise.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Lol, Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 is major overclocking memory.

If not overclocking, then just get some DDR2-533. If overclocking, do as Lord AnthraX says.

And I thought TheEnd left too. What a nasty surprise.

Yeah, I don't know why I put DDR2 800, I get TheEnd ****ed me off.


I really don't like him.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

i will get the Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 but how do u figure out the speed of the memory
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

crucial ballistix ftw
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.