What is RAID? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2006, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default What is RAID?

Can somebody please explain RAID for me? I saw a few posts on whether their rig would be faster with it, but I'm still not clear on when to use it...thanks ahead of time.
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

raid is basically two or more HDs working together to either: become 1 big drive (ex, 2X250gb = 500gb drive) This is called RAID 0. There is also RAID 1 that is 1 drive as a backup of another drive (ex 2 250gb drives, 1 is a copy of the other).
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

RAID is when you have 2 hard drives mirror each other...

for example if you have 2 150 GB hard drives, it will run much faster then say a 300 GB drive. With RAID 1, the hard drive copy each other , but the downside is if one hard drive dies, well say good bye to both of em...

most common use of raid is small drive with huge drive for storage....
EX.
74 GB SATA 10 K RPM raptor drive for OS and Games.
250 GB SATA 7200 RPM drive for evreything else

Il let someone else explain what RAID 1 is or RAID 1/0
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID

In short, You can Use many Separate Harddrives As one or Duplicate Harddrives.

The two most common RAIDS are RAID 0 (Stripping) and RAID 1 (Mirroing).

RAID 0 Splits half the data between two or more drives.
RAID 1 Duplicates the Data onto two or more Drives.

There are MANY differen't Levels/Types of RAID which are all explained in the Link I provided at the top of Post.

If you want to know all the correct terms and information on RAID, I suggest you read the ENTIRE article.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

Perfect...thanks everybody. I'm trying to get a performance boost in my games and it's come to my attention lately that it may be my hard drive slowing it down. but I also thought I took care of that problem with more RAM. See the sig below.
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah i don't think there's much more that you can upgrade. i'm not familiar with ATIs so i dunno if thats a good card or not, but 2gb is more than enough, and i dunno how much a faster HD will help. I've heard raid isn't much of a performance increase though.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

you can Defragment your Harddrive and cut down On running processes to increase preformence.

You can stop unneeded programs from starting up through msconfig.

Also make sure you don't have any viruses/trojans or Spyware.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
you can Defragment your Harddrive and cut down On running processes to increase preformence.

You can stop unneeded programs from starting up through msconfig.

Also make sure you don't have any viruses/trojans or Spyware.
I've done all of that many many times. Any other ideas?
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
There are MANY differen't Levels/Types of RAID which are all explained in the Link I provided at the top of Post.

If you want to know all the correct terms and information on RAID, I suggest you read the ENTIRE article.
*curls up in fetal position, shaking* "I just wanted raid, mommy, make the bad man go away!" *cry*
dwarf is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 02:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Timaphillips
I've done all of that many many times. Any other ideas?
A reformat and Reinstall cures all.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.