What to Put in Drive Bays? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2006, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default What to Put in Drive Bays?

My case arrived today, and I have 5 5.25 external bays. At the minute, the only thing I can think of putting in them is a DVDRW. I was wondering, what do you guys have in your drive bays, and what else should I put in mine?



Shando is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219

It is always a good place to hide some of the wires coming off of your PSU. other than that some times people mod a fan into there or some other cooling thing. also, fan and water cooling monitors can go into there. these would tell you whats all going on in there for temps and such. other that that all i can suggest is another dvd drive.

luke87 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756

I have 2 dvd RW drives, you could use them for hard drives if space or heat was a problem. a temperature/fan speed sensor display would fit nicely in one too.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
j12's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133

i have 2 optical drives and a fan controller.

MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857


that thing is kind of cool too.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
hmammen's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen

put this in there-

and you will be l33T.......w/e

seriously, all i have in mine is a cdrw and a dvdrw. i have one extra space. i plan on putting a fan in there once i get my new proc.
unless you have a bizillion fans and lights, you dont need a fan controller/led controller.


Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.