What to Put in Drive Bays? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default What to Put in Drive Bays?

My case arrived today, and I have 5 5.25 external bays. At the minute, the only thing I can think of putting in them is a DVDRW. I was wondering, what do you guys have in your drive bays, and what else should I put in mine?

Thanks

~Shando
__________________

Shando is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

It is always a good place to hide some of the wires coming off of your PSU. other than that some times people mod a fan into there or some other cooling thing. also, fan and water cooling monitors can go into there. these would tell you whats all going on in there for temps and such. other that that all i can suggest is another dvd drive.
__________________

luke87 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I have 2 dvd RW drives, you could use them for hard drives if space or heat was a problem. a temperature/fan speed sensor display would fit nicely in one too.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

i have 2 optical drives and a fan controller.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835185020

that thing is kind of cool too.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 12:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

put this in there-
http://www.xoxide.com/xray1.html

and you will be l33T.......w/e

seriously, all i have in mine is a cdrw and a dvdrw. i have one extra space. i plan on putting a fan in there once i get my new proc.
unless you have a bizillion fans and lights, you dont need a fan controller/led controller.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.