What psu do I need? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2014, 06:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Those Antec 450 psu's get really good reviews, and they are priced low too, but even though they are efficient, they do not have an 80+ rating (passive PFC) and the cables are not sleeved. Still a very good power supply.

EVGA makes a decent 500w power supply (B version) for around $50. that rated 80+ bronze
Amazon.com: EVGA 500B 500W 80PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V/EPS12V 500W Power Supply 100-B1-0500-KR: Electronics
If it's that price for Canadians then go for the eVGA.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 08:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Default Re: What psu do I need?

So the deal here is, If i want to upgrade in the future i should get a 500 watt PSU?
__________________

mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 08:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If it's that price for Canadians then go for the eVGA.
from the Amazon link:
Quote:
This item ships internationally.
It's on sale today for $40.

Today the conversion is about $6.30 more than U.S. dollars

yes, a 500watt power supply would be in your best interest
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 09:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mehguy View Post
So the deal here is, If i want to upgrade in the future i should get a 500 watt PSU?
Yes get the 500 watt psu while you have the money now.
Then you worry about getting a dedicated early next year between januarary to late feburary while online stores get rid of old products and restock for new items.
The great part about antec if the psu does kick out before you move on to a new build.
You'll get another one free of charge during the warranty.
Make sure antec or any other company can validate your proof of purchase.
Electronic receipt through email support is best for quick response times.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 11:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post

from the Amazon link:

It's on sale today for $40.

Today the conversion is about $6.30 more than U.S. dollars

yes, a 500watt power supply would be in your best interest
Was on my phone so wasn't looking. Kinda at work lol.

To OP yea a quality unit so you don't have to worry about it later.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 02:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 4
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Are you planning on any future upgrades and are you planning on over clocking the computer? If not then like the previous person stated a 500w power supply would be sufficient. Around the same price range I would recomend the Corsair CX Series 500 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Bronze ATX12V/EPS12V 456 Power Supply CX500M for about $64.99 Amazon.com: Corsair CX Series 750 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Bronze ATX12V/EPS12V 744 Power Supply CX750M: Computers & Accessories
harrisandrewn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 02:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harrisandrewn View Post
Are you planning on any future upgrades and are you planning on over clocking the computer? If not then like the previous person stated a 500w power supply would be sufficient. Around the same price range I would recomend the Corsair CX Series 500 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Bronze ATX12V/EPS12V 456 Power Supply CX500M for about $64.99 Amazon.com: Corsair CX Series 750 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Bronze ATX12V/EPS12V 744 Power Supply CX750M: Computers & Accessories
Over budget.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 02:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 4
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Over budget.
I took a look at your budget and you said $50.00 so I found a power supply that would give you the power you need plus room to grow.
Amazon.com: Senteyģ Power Supply 625w Pc / Xpp625-ps Watt / 140mm Sleeve Bearing Fan / 12v Single Rail / 40amper / Pci-e X 2 / Sata X 4 / Molex X 4 / SLI Ready / Crossfire Ready / Robust 12v Single Rail / 4molex / Ul+fcc Certifications / 78% Efficien
Power supply is around $34.99 and its a 625w
harrisandrewn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 03:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: What psu do I need?

This isn't my thread. The eVGA previously recommended would be a much better asset over that cheap Sentey.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 03:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: What psu do I need?

78% efficient and Senty has a horrible reputation for rating their power supplies to be true
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older PSU's vs. New PSU's. pro2a System Upgrades 1 03-29-2012 12:17 AM
Dying PSU..? Insufficient PSU..? Durftard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-19-2007 11:29 PM
need ur help kinda small PSU and need a GPU AMD6415 System Upgrades 7 05-20-2007 04:30 AM
how do i test my PSU with this PSU tester NOGA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-18-2006 10:39 AM
22 pin PSU and 24 pin PSU NickBrown7804 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-17-2005 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.