What psu do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2014, 11:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Default What psu do I need?

How many watts do i need?

CPU: AMD A6 6400k 3.9Ghz
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-F2A58M-DS2 Socket FM2+
RAM: G.SKILL Value Series 4GB DDR3 1600MHz (may want to upgrade to 6GB later)
Harddrive: WD Blue 500GB
2nd Harddrive: WD Black 80GB
1 DVD/CD drive
__________________

mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: What psu do I need?

You plan on adding a GPU later?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You plan on adding a GPU later?
Most likely, yes.
mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Alright, what do you plan on getting later and what is your budget now for a PSU?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Alright, what do you plan on getting later and what is your budget now for a PSU?
Getting a GPU is my first priority. Mainly the Radeon 6450 unless something better is released when I decide to upgrade. Also, a 2gb ram upgrade in the future.
mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: What psu do I need?

I would shoot for higher than that. At least get a 750ti or r9 270. The CPU portion of the chip will bottleneck the dedicated GPU but it'll be a ton better than the 6570.

Didn't reply to budget level so I'll just say grab yourself a Seasonic S1211 520w or if you can't afford that a Corsair CX500.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Didn't reply to budget level so I'll just say grab yourself a Seasonic S1211 520w or if you can't afford that a Corsair CX500.
bah, I've been to focused on the gpu. Anyways, Is there a psu out there i can get for 50-60 dollars?
mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Honestly, I would focus more on getting some more cash. Here is the CX430 that's in your budget but I wouldn't get it unless you plan to update your PSU again for better parts later.

CORSAIR CX series CX430 430W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.ca
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 07:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mehguy View Post
bah, I've been to focused on the gpu. Anyways, Is there a psu out there i can get for 50-60 dollars?
http://www.amazon.com/Antec-VP-450-E...ords=antec+psu

I used to own that psu, lasted 2 long good years.
Back in september 2013 It started to weaken out sent it in to antec rma, they said the fan was finally dying out.
Other than that been on this fx4100, amd phenom ii x4 965 phenom ii 1055T x6 and etc..
I suggest you get that rather than corsair.
GIGABYTE GV-N75TOC-2GI G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card - Newegg.com

If you do decide to get what pp suggested you'll need a 500 watt psu to keep the machine from cutting out.
GIGABYTE GV-N75TOC-2GI G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card - Newegg.com

http://www.amazon.com/Antec-Current-...ords=antec+psu

That psu would give you plenty of breathing room.
When your sick of the apu and decide to move on to a real good intel/amd cpu/board.
That will be waiting to power on your next future build.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 07:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: What psu do I need?

Those Antec 450 psu's get really good reviews, and they are priced low too, but even though they are efficient, they do not have an 80+ rating (passive PFC) and the cables are not sleeved. Still a very good power supply.

EVGA makes a decent 500w power supply (B version) for around $50. that rated 80+ bronze
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-80PLUS-Br...=evga+psu+500w
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older PSU's vs. New PSU's. pro2a System Upgrades 1 03-29-2012 12:17 AM
Dying PSU..? Insufficient PSU..? Durftard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-19-2007 11:29 PM
need ur help kinda small PSU and need a GPU AMD6415 System Upgrades 7 05-20-2007 04:30 AM
how do i test my PSU with this PSU tester NOGA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-18-2006 10:39 AM
22 pin PSU and 24 pin PSU NickBrown7804 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-17-2005 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.