What power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default What power supply?

hey i am builing my own pc and was wondering what power supply i would need for my system.

core2 duo e6600 (overclocking eventuly)
palit 8800 gtx (sli eventuly)
evga 680i MB
corsair xms2 pc8500 1066mhz (eventuly) 4gb)
seagate sata 320gb
sound blaster x-fi extreme gamer
gigabyte 3d galaxy cooling
coolermaster elite case
ocz 750 watt psu which i think is ok?
20" wide screen asus 2ms

but just want to check if i get all the eventuly things will the 750watt still work and sill be enough or future graphics cards?
__________________

baron5 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

750watts is about 300 watts overkill needed for a SLI system and about 400wats more than a single.

Just get about a 550w trusted PSU name.

Also do not get Corsair XMS, instead get the closest G.Skill to the price as it's better.

Your mobo is buggy and SLI isn't worth it but if you want it..
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default

nah i want to stik with this motherboard they will fix the bugs eventuly.

yeah i just emailed g skill coz i like them better and they said there ram is compatible with that mobo so yeah ill get that.
ok ill get like a 550watt then wats a trusted brand i couls get?
baron5 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

There are quite a few but just to name a couple: Antec, Fortron, TT Toughpower, Hiper, Thermaltake, OCZ
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Talking

ok kool thanks for your help sora
baron5 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 08:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

You may want to check out how many amps you need on the 12 volt rail of your power supply to power 2 of those 8800GTX cards at their full potential.

Unless when you get another video card you don't care if you need to upgrade power supply also.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

For instance, check out the recommended requirements for this BFG 8800 GTX....it says they recommend 32 Amps or More on the 12volt rail ....that is for one video card only. These are the MINIMUM requirements.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143080



Those top of the line cards do take power....thats why they are so powerful!
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 11:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea but most 450w PSU's have around 16 amps on their rails also and are able to do it, he should be fine in A's as long as he goes with a brand name.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 11:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

get the Antec true power trio 550w its got the right number of amps is by a good brand so is reliable and there are enough watts to power your system and have a few spare.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 11:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

It's actually got way more than enough AMPs lol. Theres a 520 Thermaltake PSU and a 580 Hiper That I like and they are 80 and 90 respectively.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.