What operating system?... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Default What operating system?...

I'm building a new PC and i'm not sure what version of windows i should get. I want my system performance to be as high as possible.


- Intel Quad Core Duo 2 (2.4ghz) Q6600
- DP35DP Motherboard
- EVGA GeForce 8800GTX 768MB
- 2 x 1024mb 800mhz Corsair 6400 RAM
- 2 x 1024mb 800mhz Patriot 6400 RAM
- DVD-RW Dual Layer optical drive
- SATA II 7200 RPM HD


Any thoughts on the OS welcome...
__________________

cfgcjm is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: What operating system?...

you should definatly go with vista, as you can run everything super smooth, with that quad, GTX, and 4 gb RAM
and not to mention the sweet DX10 effects
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: What operating system?...

Ok...32 bit or 64 bit?

what are some of the downsides/probelems with vista?...i've heard there's A LOT
cfgcjm is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: What operating system?...

since you have 4 gb of RAM, you need 64-bit to utilize all your RAM
there shouldnt be so many problems after SP1, which should be in the next half year or so
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: What operating system?...

well you could get xp now until vista has all its bugs out. since its expensive, there are alwasy 'other' options
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: What operating system?...

Dumb question....When SP1 comes out for Vista...it'll be like an auto-update for XP right...it wont be another purchase?
cfgcjm is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: What operating system?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfgcjm View Post
Dumb question....When SP1 comes out for Vista...it'll be like an auto-update for XP right...it wont be another purchase?
no just like if you install xp from a 2 year old cd, when you install you get sp2 update for free, you shouldnt be expected to buy a piece of software and pay to update it aswell!

If you had a DX9 card id have said xp for speed and performance, but since you have a DX10 card, sweet cpu and ram then you may aswell get vista, it will run fast on your system and also games will look awesome since its DX10
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: What operating system?...

thanks! wouldn't surprise me if msft did it though
__________________

cfgcjm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Annoying operating system decision Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 37 08-15-2007 11:37 PM
Operating System not found on bootup rogue152 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-08-2007 05:45 AM
error loading operating system ? joey1 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-18-2007 11:04 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.