What is normal CPU operating TEMP. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default What is normal CPU operating TEMP.

My system under normal operating conditions is between 36-38 Deg. C is this good?? what should I expect when pushing the CPU??
__________________

WWS is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to bball100
Default

That's fine for an amd if you have an amd.
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2x1gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5 ddr400
Opteron 148 Venus core w/ matching Venus heatsink fan
250gb WD SATA2 HDD
evga 7800gt 256mb gddr3
antec truepower II 550w psu
bball100 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

Yes I have an AMD X2 4800+
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

nice!
yeah the temps are fine...
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Are those load or idle? If they're load, it's fine, but if they're idle, thats a bit high.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if it hits 50, then it's getting kinda high. 55 would be about the limit before you start worrying.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
if it hits 50, then it's getting kinda high. 55 would be about the limit before you start worrying.
Agreed. ^^^

I used to run my 2500+ barton at 54 degrees C. (under load)
It was a sh!tter and would only overclock to a 3000+.

I never had any problems.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

nice but the bartons did run hotter than the 64's mine does between 26-28 idle and 30-32 load with stock cooler
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Athlon XP's run otter than Athlon 64's. 60 is a bit high for them, 65 degrees would tell you you need to do something
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.