What needs replacing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2008, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default What needs replacing?

Hi, I built this rig back in Dec. '06 and have been pretty happy with it. But I notice that prices are really starting to come down on quality parts that blow my hardware out of the water. For example, I spend $300 on my RAM alone and another $200 on my vid card when I built this machine. Now, I see DDR2 1066 ram for $100 and smokin' video cards for $200.

I'm going to college soon and I won't be able to bring this. But college is only 2 hours away for me, so I'll come home and have access to this rig pretty frequently. What stuff would you recommend I replace/upgrade? I'm thinking the video card would be a priority. Next might be RAM since it's so cheap. But will my mobo support faster RAM, or is DDR2 800 the fastest it will support?

I'm pretty satisfied with my cpu. It's rock solid stable @ 3.6ghz, and runs cool thanks to all of the fans blowing on it. I would think that the major bottleneck in games for me would be the video card, so I cannot justify getting a quad core. Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: What needs replacing?

I think that about cuts it, really. Go for the video card first, then later down the line you may wish to upgrade your motherboard to be ready for more future tech.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Yeah I imagine I'll be getting a high end Crossfire mobo before the years end just to have the PCI 2.0 slots. Vista x64 will be in the works too for DX10.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Just wondering: How does my e6600 compare clock-for-clock against newer Core 2 Duos? Are there Core 2s that are now alot faster?
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Well the new Wolfdales are faster clock per clock against the original Conroes (and will overclock better)

Don't even bother with a E6600, it sucks anyways with a B2, unless you get a really lucky VID it wouldn't overclock as well as an e4500 or e4600 or a newer Wolfdale
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: What needs replacing?

wow a double post!!! This calls for a celebration
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 04:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Double post? What are you talking about

Ninja Mod Soft Delete
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Well the new Wolfdales are faster clock per clock against the original Conroes (and will overclock better)

Don't even bother with a E6600, it sucks anyways with a B2, unless you get a really lucky VID it wouldn't overclock as well as an e4500 or e4600 or a newer Wolfdale
I've already got an e6600 though at 3.6ghz and I was wondering how it stacks up to the Wolfdales at that speed. My biggest concern would be my cpu possibly bottlenecking a big vid card like a 4870 ect. since it's going to be 2 years old before long. Or am I ok since I got a good VIN apparently since it's 3.6ghz stable?
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Wolfdales are faster clock per clock (like I said before)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: What needs replacing?

Is it true that if I get a new mobo, that will require a new copy of Windows? I'm sure I'll do it anyway because I will need Vista x64 in due time.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing 680i Pinscher New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-11-2007 09:42 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
MS Replacing Damaged Halo 3 Discs Osiris PC Gaming 7 09-26-2007 06:13 PM
Replacing HD in Sony VAIO PCG-FX370 bpatters69 Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-27-2007 03:52 PM
lifetime warrenty - eVGA, replacing my 6600 LE possible? Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-05-2007 04:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.