what kind of power unit do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2010, 07:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default what kind of power unit do I need?

Hello

I'm putting together a specification for a gaming pc, and I'm stuck on the power requirements. Here's my current spec:

cpu: Core i7
motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H55M-D2H
graphics: AMD Radeon™ HD 6850 Graphics*
sound: cheap, Sound Blaster Audigy SE
ram: 8gb +, DDR3
internet: wireless card, cheap/mid
Power unit:
Cooling: Case inbuilt
Case: Antec Two Hundred RET Midi Case
HD: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB Advanced Format 3.5 SATA Internal
Hard Drive: HP - CD-RW / DVD-ROM combo drive - internal - 8x - 5.25" Slim Line - IDE - carbon

I've used a power calculator to find some sort of figure to work with and it comes back with about 550 watts, which seems steep. What power units should I be looking at for this configuration?

Since I've put it up, can anyone see potential problems with this setup? Anything I've missed?
__________________

YsoL8 is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: what kind of power unit do I need?

I recommend a PSU that is around 500watts for the type of PC you have.
Newegg.com - Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2 Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Look at this psu, that should mostly cover what you need and allow you to turn on your all of your pc parts without failure.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: what kind of power unit do I need?

Have you already bought the HDD? If not I recommend a WD Black. The Green series has low performance, 5400rpm, which makes it ideal for backups or data. For OS you should use a Black series, 7200rpm.

Do you really need 8GB? 4GB is enough for daily use and gaming. Usually 8GB are needed for video encoding or running VM. I would buy 4GB now and buy another 4GB if it's needed.

Everything else looks good.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: what kind of power unit do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by farinha View Post
Have you already bought the HDD? If not I recommend a WD Black. The Green series has low performance, 5400rpm, which makes it ideal for backups or data. For OS you should use a Black series, 7200rpm.

Do you really need 8GB? 4GB is enough for daily use and gaming. Usually 8GB are needed for video encoding or running VM. I would buy 4GB now and buy another 4GB if it's needed.

Everything else looks good.
To be honest I haven't researched HDD thoroughly - I went with the green series because of lower power consummation - and I'm not familiar with what makes a high end HDD anyway. (just to be clear, this is my first build). What RPM does an average HDD use these days?

I'm going with 8gb basically so I don't get an underpowered power unit. It's what I want ideally but I may reduce that to 6 or 4 when I nail down the prices for everything else.
YsoL8 is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: what kind of power unit do I need?

On a high end system like that I would spend a bit more to get a Corsair 550vx over the Antec BP550. While both power supplies are the same wattage the Corsair is higher quality and has a single 12v rail which basically means all of it's power is available to any component that needs it regardless of what connectors it's using.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply unit question Dakhathsk New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-04-2009 06:06 PM
Possible power unit problem? leonardmp92 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-16-2007 06:44 PM
FS: Power Supply Unit SnowFox Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 04-27-2006 06:55 AM
Cooling system, and power unit WiZ System Upgrades 3 10-05-2005 04:47 PM
Power Supply Unit ThirtySixBelow Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-09-2004 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.