What kind of cable for sound? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2009, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default What kind of cable for sound?

So, what kind of little cable thing do I need to attach the video card to the onboard sound? I want it to go through the hdmi cable that is going to be connected to the gtx 260 c 216 so it can run the computer on a 1080p tv.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

I don't think the reference gtx 260s have line in connection? (I could be wrong)
if your video card don't have a line in connection, then you simply can't
maybe your video card have integrated sound?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 03:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

The 260 does not have hdmi. It can connect via hdmi with an adapter but that connection will only carry video. You would have to have a minijack to rca cable adapter from your sound card to connect directly to your TV. You could use the optical out into a tuner as well. Then you would get your video either by a direct dvi connection or by using a dvi to hdmi adapter.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

Newegg.com - CABLES UNLIMITED AUD-1200-25 25 ft. 3.5mm to 2 RCA Cable M-M - Audio Video Cables

Is that good enough if I am just using onboard sound or do I need something of better quality?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

I am not an audio connoisseur and have used something very similar to that and it sounded fine to me. If you are really concerned about quality, post a question in the audio section for help with a higher end setup.

For me with onboard it would work just fine.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

It ain't going to be me using this most of the time, so I'll just go with it, and upgrade later if they aren't satisfied.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

my GTX 260 has a 2 pin connector for the sound when using DVI to HDMI. it even came with a cable

Newegg.com - MSI N260GTX-T2D896-OCv2 GeForce GTX 260 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

look at the pics. it is the little 2 pin thing next to the PCI express power on the top of the card. S/PDIF is what it is called.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

Will that little cable reach the sound on the motherboard or do you need a soundcard?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: What kind of cable for sound?

i have a sound card right above my 260 so it will easily reach it. but i do not use it unless i bring it over to my dads and hook my pc up to our 46" Bravia XBR tv. Crysis looks amazing on that thing maxed out.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
Australia to get a new submarine cable Harper SEO and Web Traffic 4 04-14-2008 10:30 AM
Will my HD work with this cable? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-01-2007 01:32 PM
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.