What i do wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2006, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 58
Default What i do wrong?

I dis and re-assemble an old but still working computer of mine. When i turn in on, nothing shows up in the moniter. The moniter light just blinks.
__________________

BlackPHat is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Do you get any beeps?
Make sure the motherboard isn't shorting, reset vid card reset cpu, try a second monitor.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 03:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

maybe moniters dead...
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 03:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

make sure all cables are pluged in correctly and make sure all the jumper settings are correct. and reset the cmos just for the heck of it.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 01:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 58
Default

The problem is how do i know if the cables are in the right place?
BlackPHat is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

Well for starters check your 20 pin and 4 pin power connection. If they are both firmly in place then move on to your drives, are the ide and power cables plugged firmly into the hard drive and disk drive.Then check your memory is it in the right way and is it in firlmly, it should click into place. If so then check to see if your add on cards , if you have any, are in tight remove them from there slot, pci, pci-e or agp, and then re insert them firmly. Check to see that your cpu fan is plugged in tightly and running. Are you sure the monitor your using works. Also a little info on your problem would help. Do you hear the computer running when you start up? Does your mobo beep at all ? Try giving some specifics on the computer as well is it homemade or premade what company/parts are in the computer??
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.