What the heck do I do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2008, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default What the heck do I do?

Ok, so I have a computer...works fine, I bought 9800GT OC and the card requires 6 pin connector. The power supply is some wicked old school mother _______ has weird connections like sata and such... but no 6 pin. I have a diff power supply with 6 pin connection but no sata ones.

Can I like chain link them? Or what do I do? Not spending anymore $ BTW.

Does the second PSU have to be plugged into a diff mobo in order to power up?
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 02:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: What the heck do I do?

no, just powered by your wall socket and it'll work. but you shouldn't have to, look at which power supply has the most amps over the 12v rails, generally the higher the amperage over these rails, the more the power supply can handle. if this is your ocz powerstream you'll be fine to handle it, just use a molex to 6 pin connector. these connectors should have came with your card. if not heres a link Newegg.com - LOGISYS AD201 12v Molex to 12V 6Pin Adapter - Adapters & Gender Changers
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default Re: What the heck do I do?

Yes, but I don't believe the OCZ came with the sata L shaped ones.
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: What the heck do I do?

hows it hooked up to your raptor now then xD you could always use adapters for that aswell (if you have to) but im certain it has sata connectors. i think using adapters puts more pressure on your power supply, but if your only runing one hard drives and the 9800gts you should be fine.

EDIT: just seen how old the powerstream is, i assumed since it was 800w it would be relatively new. i cant find anything except a 600w one but as long as your got decent 12v rails you should be ok, otherwise use your other psu if it has sata connectors.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 02:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: What the heck do I do?

For the second psu to power up you need to hot wire it with a paper clip its the red wire to any black wire I believe but you may want to doublecheck via google as I am not certain. Needless to say take the usual precautions with a psu don't have it plugged in and leave it a couple of days to discharge before fiddling with it.

Your graphics card should of come with an adapter but pretty much all psu's with sata are modern enough to have 6pin
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow PC HJT Log for the heck of it.. [F] Peter.Cort HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 06-23-2008 05:13 PM
The PS3 Laptop by Ben Heck b1gapl Sony Playstation 8 04-13-2008 10:30 PM
what the heck is this? EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 03-20-2008 03:46 PM
What the heck is a v.9x modem? Caine Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:24 AM
Selling my laptop... how the heck... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-17-2007 05:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.