What the heck - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default What the heck

I opened up my comp today to check my psu and everything was fine, but just as I was putting my case door back on I heard a screw drop. Well, now I can't seem to find where it came from. Should I worry or is it no big deal? The comp is running fine. I don't think the screw came from anywhere 'important' due to where it was laying. Hmm.....................things can never be easy. LOL
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Should be fine o_o. Though watch, you'll turn it on tomorrow and the whole thing falls to pieces :freak: Oh godz
__________________

Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Camden
Should be fine o_o. Though watch, you'll turn it on tomorrow and the whole thing falls to pieces :freak: Oh godz
What bothers me more is the fact that the screw couldnt have been in well to begin with. lol It didnt take much for it to fall out.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Probably some screw that you accidentally dropped in there a long time ago.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Which means the others might not be either....! Oh goodness gracious me! =O!!!

(Er.... still haven't found where it goes? x_x)
Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

What I meant is like sometimes your hands just shake for that one second when you are screwing in that new PCI card, you give up looking for that screw that you dropped and use a new one.

Did you check all the CD/DVD roms, maybe a screw that was holding those got lose and fell off.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Well, it's not from me. lol This is the first time Ive been inside the case. It fell from somewhere, but who knows. It's not on fire 'yet', so must be fine.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
It's not on fire 'yet', so must be fine.
Famous last words.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

lol dont worry hell a screw broke off that connected my graphics card so like a fool i went at it ended up breaking off 2 capacitors off my card it still works though . The screw fell off into the pc and i used a magnetic screw driver head to get it lol!! very dangerous i know! but hey it work
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

how the hell do you guys have good luck??? geeze.. i could touch the wooden desk that the comp is on with an antistatic bag and it would fry the motherboard....

lucky people
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.