What hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2007, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to kfinchie
Default What hard drive?

Hi I am building a new server here are the specs I do have:

2 X Intel Xeon Dual-Core 5160 3.0GHz
Intel SE7320VP2D2 Dual Xeon/DDR2 Server Motherboard
2 X Kingston 2GB ECC/REG Memory
Intel SR2500NA 750W PFC 2U Rackmount Server Chassis
Adaptec 2410SA Serial ATA RAID 4-Port

One thing you might notice is that there is no hard drives. Here is my question. What brand of hard drive should I use, I usually prefer Western Digital for all my hard drive need, but then I usually only use AMD, so I am open to suggestions. The hard drives need to be 500gb and they will be configured in a RAID 5 if that helps you in answering my question.
__________________

kfinchie is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: What hard drive?

Well if this is a true server build and you have the money, then I would suggest looking into a SCSI RAID Setup. SCSI Drives are specifically designed for severs. They usually last longer because of that.

If you don't want to deal with SCSI then Seagate is the way to go for SATA Drives.
Mainly for technical support and long warranties.

Are you intersted in RAID for back ups?

What will this server be doing?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to kfinchie
Default Re: What hard drive?

No I am not looking for a RAID back up we just using a External hard drive to back up. I am not familiar with a RAID back up if you could inform me and maybe I might consider it. We are also looking to have About 1.5TB of storage and be hot swappable. Will 4 500gb HDD do this configured in a RAID 5?

But this is server is going to replace 3 servers. I work for a company that does Commercial Collections, This server will host the program Net Collect. This will be the main function as well as a file/print/fax. The only server it won't be replacing is our exchange server.
kfinchie is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to kfinchie
Default Re: What hard drive?

Also if I go SCSI what brand would you recommend?

I am also looking at my vendors site and the biggest SCSI Drive they have is only 300GB is there a reason why there so small. Unless I can find a 500gb I am leaning towards a SATA.
kfinchie is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What hard drive?

SATA drives should be fine for your server. 4 500gb in raid 5 will give you 1.5tb. you need at least 3 drives for raid 5 and the total storage is 75% of the total of all of the drives. I would recommend western digital hd's.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: What hard drive?

Quote:
No I am not looking for a RAID back up we just using a External hard drive to back up. I am not familiar with a RAID back up if you could inform me and maybe I might consider it. We are also looking to have About 1.5TB of storage and be hot swappable. Will 4 500gb HDD do this configured in a RAID 5?
sure will.

Quote:
Also if I go SCSI what brand would you recommend?
check out the Seagate Barracuda or Cheetah series, unfortunately WD have forced your hand here as they appear to have discontinued their SCSI lines.

as for SATA, in what you're looking at check out the WD Caviar RE and Seagate NL series. these days SATA can pretty much use the most useful features of SCSI anyway, with ample bandwidth.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
montdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 118
Default Re: What hard drive?

Hes right the seagate ns drives are built for 24/7 use. I am a seagate solution provider and have sold tons ns drives and can count the rma's i have done on 1 hand. The 500 i sell the most of is st3500630ns. Good luck
__________________

montdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hard drive problems Sewercake Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-28-2007 09:08 PM
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 12:48 AM
Hard drive space? sprtnbsblplya Off Topic Discussion 10 03-27-2007 10:12 AM
How Do I Join Partitions? Denise_M Microsoft Windows and Software 22 03-26-2007 05:50 AM
Technology related pranks AND_YOU_ARE Off Topic Discussion 32 03-25-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.