What Gaming processor Is right for me? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 09:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

Its a real fast computer the X2's anyway I wish I could afford one
__________________

KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 09:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

New games are going to support dual-core in the future. Like FEAR I believe. Don't forget the saying, you can overclock a dual core to single core speeds, but you cant overclock a single core to dual-core speeds.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 10:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 61
Default

I'm going with a 3700+ because it's not too expensive but it's also 100x better than my current cpu. If I could afford it, I'd go with a dual core.
notquitedead is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 11:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by septoid2
New games are going to support dual-core in the future. Like FEAR I believe. Don't forget the saying, you can overclock a dual core to single core speeds, but you cant overclock a single core to dual-core speeds.
What? You mean you can always make the dual core like a single core but never make a single core like a dual core?
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can OC a dual core processor to single core speeds, but youi cant OC a single core processor to dual core speeds

the dual core processors have 2 processors which are OCed which combined is like 4GHz or something, but you will never reach that with single core processor, and when something like that reaches dual core speeds, but i highly doubt it cause you cant get 2 cores in one, so they will come out wiht a new processor which will be doubled as fast sense it has 2 cores, which is just really confusing me and im not getting any of this in my head
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Rofl, Pzero. Let me take over.

Dual Core won't double the clock speed. Its just like having two Single Core processors in one.
Flanker2 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

uh yeah sure
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

Not seeing how this wouldn't double the clock speed... or close to it. If you have 2 core's then either one fills up with processes and the other will take whats left over or they both work on something at the same time and either way it's almost doubling the clock speeds, I don't see any other solution. If it's not double clock speeds then what makes it so good with gaming?

EDIT: I thought about it some more.... maybe what your trying to say is the speed isn't necessarily doubled it just has 2 of the same speed CPU's working on it? So essentially, it's ALOT like doubeling the core clock speed but in technical terms it's not?
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 04:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

FOR GAMING:

IMO - Yes a CPU is important for gaming, but i believe that the videocard or cards you use a just a hint more important.

I believe that upgrading a CPU should be directly related to your videocard solution.

If you're going FX-57, then an SLI or CROSSFIRE solution is probably the best way to go. You'll need a very high-end CPU to keep up with the Highest settings in AA & AF and monitor resolutions. You'll also need the highest-end videocards available.

If you're in going with a low to mid-end videocard and you'll already be limited to mid AA&AF settings and resolutions, so a mid-end CPU is probably the best upgrade.

Any of those CPU's that you listed would be a fine choice for a mid-end videocard. Using a Highend video card like the 7800GTX or the X1800XT would be fine with any of those CPU's but, don't expect to use the highest settings or resolutions for monitors over 19". It will work just fine, but the performance won't exactly be top notch.

STRICTLY IMO,

Your CPU & VIDEO CARD for "GAMING" should relatively be matched for their best performance.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

cpu after the amd 64 3000 has no gain in performance that i can tell. I oced my 3000 to 3500 thiking that i would get a huge speed increase and hold and behold to behold no increase in fps in css. so no cpu speed after 3000 woudlnt increase you fps by 2-5 maybe? That being said others things will run faster with faster cpu so look into what u gooan use your pc for and then cosinder, Faster is better anyway but for a budget minded like me...
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.