What do you use to cool your C2D?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2006, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Question What do you use to cool your C2D??

I am in the process of buying an E6300 and wondering what everyone has been using to cool their C2D? I was looking at the Zalman CNPS9500, but was wondering if I should go with something else? I do plan on OCing and water cooling is out of the question.

So what do you use??
__________________

__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

grab a scythe.. they're massive..
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I use the Tower112.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

I've been researching the same thing and so far it sounds like the best out there are the zalman, the tuniq tower, and the scythe ninja. If anybody knows other good ones feel free to add to that list.
Jrod is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Zalman CNPS9500 is what I use.
The General is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

Thanks for the info guys, I went ahead and ordered the Zalman.
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Don't mean to hijack, but would the stock heat sink suffice if I don't OC?
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 12:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I bought a Zalman CNPS9500 LED because a lot of people around here use it.

I think if you get Tuniq or something you might really be pushing it with the weight. The Zalman is already way over Intel's "safe weight" spec and the other ones get even heavier.
Navaros is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by viperman5000
Don't mean to hijack, but would the stock heat sink suffice if I don't OC?
NO! the stock heatsink is horrible!

dude, if it comes with a heatsink, your supposed to use it, or it voids the warranty, of course its good enough, lmao
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

I plan on overclocking with stock HSF, ill let you know how good it does viper. I may get aftermarcket for my birthday in november, but for now i have to stick with stock, ive head it's pretty good though.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.