What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2007, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Hello all,

I was wondering if you can tell me if this is a good system or not. I am not sure if the processors are 32 bit or 64 bit? Can anyone help with that?

I guess my main focus is gaming...with hopes of running the Crysis 2 engine on this. The only bad thing is that there is only one PCI-E graphics slot, so I cant put in tandem video cards in the future.

Here are the specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600

ASUS P5BW-LA Motherboard
64 bit , 965 Chipset, 8 USB 2 ports
2GB DDR2 667MHz RAM
250GB SATA 7200 Hard Drive
DVD Writer Light scribe
PCI-E Video 256MB NVIDIA
Fire wire / Front USB/ Sound
Realtek digital sound card
Intel 10/100 NIC
12 in 1 Memory card reader
Windows XP Pro

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Toned is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Go with the newer E6650 DDR2 800 RAM and an 8800 GT(S/X). Should be good then
__________________

muckluck is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Hey Toned,
Welcome to T.F.!!


Are you building this? All processors currently, are 64-bit.

I would suggest the E6750 or E6550 instead of the E6600, because it's a bit cheaper actually. And a better overclocker.

For the motherboard, I would suggest the P35-DS3R or DSL, depending on the budget.

Go for DDR2-800 RAM instead. The prices have gone done on them.

You don't need more than one PCIe slot, because SLI or Crossfiring more than one PCIe graphics card, is useless. You're paying 100% more for just a 30% increase in performance.

You don't need a NIC, as the motherboard already has one.

If you want to play Crysis, and want to play with all the graphical features on, you would need Windows Vista plus a high end GeForce 8800, such as the GTS or GTX, if you can afford.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

As said above, (if your building yourself, and even if you aren't) you'll want to go with the 6x50 model core 2 duo's.
And sorry to hijack the thread, but is Crysis only going to be avail for Vista (i guess will it need dx10 or will it run on XP with Dx9).
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated.

But I am picking up this system pre built for $750 Canadian.

I think its a good price for the system no?

I am also aware that Crysis will run on Vista, but I am waiting for a bug free version of it.
Toned is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Yeah, it's going to be a Vista game, but still playable on XP. Just no fancy DX10.
muckluck is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Like most people have said ixnay on the E6600 Q6600 it if you can, see if they will customize it for you? And I believe Crysis will only be available for Vista but don't quote me on that.
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

No...I believe Crysis will also be coded for DX9, along with DX10.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toned
Thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated.

But I am picking up this system pre built for $750 Canadian.

I think its a good price for the system no?
For all that, and no graphic card? I think it's possible to build one better than that, for the money.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
No...I believe Crysis will also be coded for DX9, along with DX10.



For all that, and no graphic card? I think it's possible to build one better than that, for the money.
Cool, but I dont think I know enough to build my own PC.
Toned is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: What do you think of this system??? Need Help Please.

trust me...you can learn how to quickly
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.