What do you think?? (conroe setup) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 71
Default What do you think?? (conroe setup)

this is what i plan on getting,

does it a loog fine? or is ther anything you would change?
for my motherboard i was thinking the NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI or the NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI, how much do you think they'll be, and how much do you think the equivelent of the 7800gt will be in the 80's series? (by equivelent i don't mean equivelent to the 7800gt, but to the 7800 poition in the 70's series, it you get what i am saying)
thanks
-eleclipper
__________________

eleclipper is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

that rams only DDR presume id have to be DDR2 if you go Intel.

that case although looks nice might be a little bit flimsy.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Right, I might be wrong on this, but I'm sure the nForce chipset you talk about are only for AMD mobos, so that's a no-no for Core 2 Duo. And you are going to need DDR2, like Baron said. I think you'll need at least DDR2 667MHz. So far, it's impossible to say what will happen to the G80s - price, spec and performance wise. And I would definitely not get that case, it has rather poor ventilation according to some reviews I've read. Not to mention that I think it's one of the ugliest cases I've ever seen. But that's just my opinion. And you can get a better PSU for that price, try for a Antec Trupower2 550W, it is very good for the price you pay! Just my $0.02.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

there will be n force boards :

http://www.nvidia.com/page/nforce5_specs_intel.html

that PSU is alright hiper make good ones.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I do apologise. Good info Baron. As for the RAM, you will have to go for DDR2.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

hey don't apologise all part of learning process and the more people that give information and recommendations the better his end build shall be
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 71
Default

ok so i updates the RAM.

is the PSU fine? and also any recommondations for a case? i actually like the way it looks. but it sort of looks to big and bulky, and there where a lot of reviewers that said it scathes easily + it only has 2 HD bays, any idea how much the nforce5 mobo's will cost
thanks again
-eleclipper
eleclipper is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 09:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

not sure about the mobo price, maybe from low end $82.99 too high end sli setups costing $250

Will you be overclocking? if not you wont need such fancy ram.

for a case welllll its very tough i spent weeks finding mine, Id go with a thermaltake or antec.

look on www.newegg.com and browse some then look for online reviews, if it all seems ok then buy . Just make sure its ATX and has enough drive bays etc.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 71
Default

which one did you end up choosing?
eleclipper is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

A thermaltake kandalf lol its a monster but I have 2 hard drives 2 dvd drives so need space. You could get the armour or shark. The antec P180 is nice too but they cost a lot.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.