What do you think about this case? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 04:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Default

it shows only coming with one fan right? Doesnt it need at least two if not three
__________________

Cuthroat is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 04:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

It comes with 1 fan, but it can have a total of 3 (1 80 and 2 120).

Is 3 fans enough?
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 05:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 61
Default

When you look under Detailed Specs it says that the PSU isn't included. Just wanted to make sure you were aware of that. Although, with the rebate $30 doesn't seem like a bad price for the PSU. But I don't know anything about that brand so $30 could be a rip off.

I say take the chance, though, and let us know how it turns out. Easy for me to say though, it isn't my money.

BTW, 3 fans should be fine as long as they're good fans.
__________________
BUM+ Certified
g-unit is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 06:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

2X http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835150052
2X http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811998121

Think those fans would do?


Quote:
Originally posted by g-unit
When you look under Detailed Specs it says that the PSU isn't included. Just wanted to make sure you were aware of that.
There are 2 models, I'm getting the one with the PSU.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 07:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I have that case and it's actually pretty good at cooling with just 3 fan's,But if you want to add another fan there's enough space in the top so you can cut and put another 120mm
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 07:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
I have that case and it's actually pretty good at cooling with just 3 fan's,But if you want to add another fan there's enough space in the top so you can cut and put another 120mm
I've never built a system before (yea, I'm sad >.<) Is it hard to setup another fan?
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

Well, the only thing I don't like about it is that it does not use the snap-in type HDD slots, looks like it is all screws. On the other hand, how many times does one really take the guts in and out?

And as for the comment on connectors, I'd be willing to bet that a touch of dielectric grease on the connectors would take the resistance down to solder levels, or nearly so. It really couldn't be all THAT bad, could it?
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yes it could be, who would wanna put something on the connections anyways? Lets see, them cables can be 1-2 foot each, but the connection at the component adds maybe 1-3 foot worth in resistance, then the OTHER connection at the PSU adds about another 1-3 foot in resistance giving you what could be 3-12 foot..... We all say less cable is better, so a 3-12 foot cable in there delivering power to each part isnt very good....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nezzari
2X http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835150052
2X http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811998121

Think those fans would do?




There are 2 models, I'm getting the one with the PSU.
Well, the first one is kinda loud, IMHO. This one is below the 38 dBA threshold that has been shown to be annoying: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835119045 On the other hand, it DOES move less air in CFM.

Or: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811999965

This one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811999346 is only 26 dBA, but it is only 53 CFM.

Go for a fan with balls (bearing, that is!), and the highest CFM/lowest dBA you can find.
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yah thats true i would not go with a modular either.But it stops that damn rats nest.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.