What do you think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2009, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Arrow What do you think?

Building a Gaming PC that will be slightly future-proof.
  • Opinions and recommendations would be appreciated, thanks

**UPDATED**


Ah yes sorry, forgot to mention about the OS. I was getting 64-bit but can't see it on Scan; only the one with the Windows 7 key (extra 10 or so).
__________________

GriM' is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What do you think?

The i7 is slightly cheaper in Scan's Today Only.
And you don't need to buy that cooler, since the i7 you're getting there is Retail, therefore comes with the same cooler.
And that GPU cooling block isn't compatible with the 4890.
And you won't be able to use all 6GB of RAM if you get 32-bit Vista, you'll need 64-bit to see it all.

Otherwise, all good choices. Though personally I'd go for an HAF932 instead of the CM Storm (I have one, it's EXCELLENT in cooling), and it's 25 quid cheaper.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
The i7 is slightly cheaper in Scan's Today Only.
And you don't need to buy that cooler, since the i7 you're getting there is Retail, therefore comes with the same cooler.
And that GPU cooling block isn't compatible with the 4890.
And you won't be able to use all 6GB of RAM if you get 32-bit Vista, you'll need 64-bit to see it all.

Otherwise, all good choices. Though personally I'd go for an HAF932 instead of the CM Storm (I have one, it's EXCELLENT in cooling), and it's 25 quid cheaper.
I originally had the HAF 932 in the rig :laughing: I don't know why I changed really.
What GPU cooler is compaitable with 4890? (If I need one that is)
I'll update now...
(I'll also rep you Yamik :P)

Maybe I could have 4GB instead of 6 and maybe even change back to 32-bit...
GriM' is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What do you think?

Well you could just remove Windows Vista itself, and use the Windows7 Beta (which is amazing) and you can buy Windows 7 later on..

You really want triple channel with a Core i7 and you can't get 4GB in triple channel mode
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What do you think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
You really want triple channel with a Core i7 and you can't get 4GB in triple channel mode
Indeed; triple-channel is compulsory with the i7. And 6GB over 3GB actually gives quite a high performance boost.

Quote:
and use the Windows7 Beta (which is amazing) and you can buy Windows 7 later on.
I agree, except I hope you mean the Windows 7 RC, since the beta has now expired.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Default Re: What do you think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Well you could just remove Windows Vista itself, and use the Windows7 Beta (which is amazing) and you can buy Windows 7 later on..

You really want triple channel with a Core i7 and you can't get 4GB in triple channel mode
Ah right ok, thanks.
GriM' is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What do you think?

Found a good 4890-compatible HS, it's a tenner more than the one you originally had there though.

MUSASHI - Scythe Musashi Dual Fan Graphics Card Cooler (Compatible with ATI's HD4870 and nVidia's 9800GTX+) - Scan.co.uk

Edit: Woops, sorry, it's only up for pre-order. It doesn't really matter anyway, you're unlikely to need a cooler for it unless you're going to be OCing it a lot.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Default Re: What do you think?

Do you think I really need a GPU cooler?
&
Can you go CrossFire (4850) with 700w PSU? I guess I'll need to change motherboard and stuff aswell...
GriM' is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: What do you think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GriM' View Post
Do you think I really need a GPU cooler?
&
Can you go CrossFire (4850) with 700w PSU? I guess I'll need to change motherboard and stuff aswell...
Depends on the PSU, it will need to have four PCI-E connectors, and be good quality. You will need a Crossfire-capable motherboard too, that's all you'll really need to change.

And no, I don't think you'll need a GPU cooler.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Default Re: What do you think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Depends on the PSU, it will need to have four PCI-E connectors, and be good quality. You will need a Crossfire-capable motherboard too, that's all you'll really need to change.

And no, I don't think you'll need a GPU cooler.
Uh, I've looked on technical specs:
1 x 4pin ATX 12V
10 x 4pin Molex
2 x 6pin PCI-E Power
1 x 8pin CPU +12V
2 x 8pin PCI-E Power
2 x FDD Power
6 x SATA Power
Scan code: LN19235, if you want to check for yourself.
__________________

GriM' is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.