What do you guys think?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2010, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13
Default What do you guys think??

This is my first build, so tell me if i did good

Here are my specs:

Mobo: Asus Crosshair III formula

CPU: Amd phenom II x2 550 Black edition @3.1 ghz

CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Spin q

GPU: XFX Ati Radeon HD 5750 1gb

Ram: 1gb DDR 3 (for the meantime)

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 400 Gb

Psu: antec 650w earthwatts

Case: nzxt Lexa S
__________________

amdgamer is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: What do you guys think??

you have to upgarde the ram, i dont think win 7 will run with less than 2gb
__________________

__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: What do you guys think??

i have windows 7 basic so it should only require 1gb i think, but ill check more into that
amdgamer is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: What do you guys think??

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
you have to upgarde the ram, i dont think win 7 will run with less than 2gb
It will run actually, Only 32Bit though, It run's okay actually, I've ran it on a Pentium 4 With 1GB of Ram. if you try 64 bit though then you're dead. highly advise more than 1GB though in the longterm.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: What do you guys think??

who wants to get 64 bit hardware and run a 32 bit OS?
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: What do you guys think??

what is your budget for this build?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: What do you guys think??

well i baisicly already reached it cus i bought everything i need for right now, but the only problem i see is that i bought windows 7 starter but im just going to play games
amdgamer is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: What do you guys think??

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
who wants to get 64 bit hardware and run a 32 bit OS?
Just saying, until he gets more Ram that's all.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 08:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: What do you guys think??

yea, but he plans to play games.... you need more ram before you can expect to play any newish games with only 1gb of ram
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 12:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: What do you guys think??

A $220 mobo for a $85 CPU? Boy did you get that backwards. My CPU and mobo combo (currently runing this):
* AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX
* ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Combo Price: $246.98

The difference in price would have bought you 4GB (2x2GB) of DDR3. Or a stick of 2GB and enough to have gotten a full version of 7.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something fun for you guys =) Skormm General Gaming 9 07-09-2009 04:03 PM
Thanks Guys Method Off Topic Discussion 4 08-13-2008 08:43 AM
:freak:hey guys Im new I was wondering if you guys would like to play in Hallo 2 game !337pWnAg3 Microsoft XBox 3 08-24-2005 04:33 AM
BF2... what res. do you guys run it on? pc_boy PC Gaming 16 06-18-2005 11:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.