What do u think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default What do u think?

Heres the upgrades i'm gettin (well at least till august when i replace the mobo and cpu for conroe):

HIS Hightech Radeon X1900XT:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161168

Zalman VF900 VGA Cooler:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118001

OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341001

G.Skill DDR2 667 4-4-4-12:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231049

Albatron PX915P-2V s775 (temporary mobo till august):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813170010

Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 80GB SATA II:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148148

I have about $1000 budget, figurin $150 for a conroe mobo and $180 for an E6300 total comes out to $1060 w/out shippin.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

it all looks good, but id got for 2gb of DDR2 800.

like this, only if you can afford it.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231071
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

I wish i could, but i can wait for now, around Xmas when i have money again, i'll buy another GB or 2. I have 1GB now with a single core and i can do everything i want, multi-taskin, etc. just fine.... i'll eventually will get 2GBs, but not now.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

omg, i think thats the first planned setup without anything bad/wrong in it.
*pops cork on champengne bottle*
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

is your sig what you have now?
cause if it is...

your sig says you have 1gb of DDR2 800, can't you just get this?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128296

and your sig also says you have a sapphire X1900XT 512MB you dont need another one if that's what your doing.

and get a gigabyte mobo, just to be sure. never really heard anything about albatron mobos.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128296

if you sig isnt what you have now, then your upgrads should do fine.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Dont mind the sig, that was wut i was goin to upgrade, then i realized i needed a new PSU for a X1900XT (and realized i bought a crap PSU) and then i saw that for the RD600 chipset, you can OC the FSB and the memory bandwidth wont increase, so i can OC my CPU without OCin or settin a memoryin divider for my RAM, and i can OC my RAM without OCin the CPU, etc. Also the 800 isnt in the budget. The only thing i'm usin out of the sig is the HP Lightscribe DVD drive, the scythe ninja, and the Kingwin Mutant X-Series.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

you could go for something mroe lower end i nthe video department. i've heard that you can unlock a X1800GTO to 16 (or is it 18) pipes and overclock it so it's close to a X1800XT.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Yea the GTO unlocks to 16 but only certain cards do it and i really want the 1900XT. I'm not goin to get DX10 since it'll be a while till stuff needs DX10 to run (probably around 1-2 years till it requires DX10) and the 1900xt is powerful enough to run Vista and games for a long time (since alot games now run fine on onboard graphics ) Well i'm newegg right now, orderin... everythings good...... now comes the hard part..... WAITIN LONGER!!!!!
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

wel then everything looks good, the X1900XT will definately last until R600 comes out next year, and when you get 2gb you should be set.

good luck, hope nothin gets lost in the mail. i hate when that happens, **** ups.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

lol.... i have a feelin, the X1900XT is goin to last me a good 3-4 years, but i'm goin to get the urge to upgrade it next year and i'll have to fight it and stay with the XT till around 08. But, it'll last me.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.