What do I place my hardware on? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2009, 09:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Talking What do I place my hardware on?

Stupid question, but it's been bugging me. Im ssending in my mobo to get replaced, so where do I put my GPU, ram, hdd, soundcard? Do I buy a special bag or mat to keep it safe?
__________________

Callofbooty is offline  
Old 04-12-2009, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: What do I place my hardware on?

Just stick it on a shelf

or you could hold them while shuffling around your carpeted house in woolen socks.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-12-2009, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What do I place my hardware on?

If you still have any anti static bags left over from your build you could put them in those. I would at least want my gpu in one.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-12-2009, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: What do I place my hardware on?

If my wife didn't have the camera I'd take a picture of my office for you....pc parts on the floor, shelf, desk drawer, other computer towers, tables....as mentioned, just put them on a shelf...somewhere you wont' step on them :P

Really the only thing I'm that that careful with are the cpus.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-12-2009, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: What do I place my hardware on?

I just clear out a drawer in my dresser and stick them in there. Then they won't really get dusty and theres no danger of stepping on them
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
Hardware tech job security? Celtic_Tiger Technology Careers and Education 4 02-03-2009 06:04 PM
WinXP - new hardware wizard keeps reappearing with wireless mouse comradec Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 12:17 AM
server vs pc hardware ChrisX New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-23-2008 03:34 PM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.