What do I need to make this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2010, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default What do I need to make this work?

What type of video card or whatever would anyone recommend for this setting. I have a guy that wants to hook up his computer to his standard monitor but also at times wants it to be able to be able to watch it on his big tv. The tv has a vga in plus hdmi, and component. He also has a smaller tv that is already wired with hdmi to come from the computer.
So in a nut shell he wants the regular monitor which will be DVI, the small tv that has hdmi and the large tv I am not sure what to run, whether it be vga, hdmi, or component. I like the idea of another hdmi because it runs audio too where vga only runs video and would need another audio cable. Component would be the same issue. I would also like to use cat 5e to run any of this. Is that possible?
So, if this makes sense to anyone, what equipment would I need to make this possible? What do I need for a video card or cards? What would I need to make the cat 5 work? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

Budget? I'd go with a HD 6870, 5770 or higher 5000 series, or GTX 460 and higher. That's definitely a graphics-taxing situation there.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

No budget, just want to make it work right.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

Well, "work right" is a relative term. Technically almost anything would "work," but more expensive equipment would work better than not-so-expensive equipment. With three HD displays, I'd suggest SLI or a fancier ATI single-GPU solution. If money doesn't matter, a GTX 580 4-way SLI would be the best option xD. balancing price and performance, I suggest GTX 460/GTS 450 SLI or a single HD 5850 /5870/6870. If he doesn't game, go with ATI as the benefit from NVidia's PhysX wouldn't be nearly as great. I'd go with i7 CPU, or Phenom II x6 for extreme multitasking on a budget. Make sure to get a mobo that supports whatever GPU platform you go with. Make sure the PSU fits the bill.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 11:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

No budget, so what will work is what I need. I will build what we need and what is suggested. Not a gamer.

How could I get 2 hdmi out of one? Is that possible? Would I need two cards?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

HD 6870 then. With no budget an i7 930 or so should be great. SSD is a must. With a single GPU the PSU needn't be too powerful. Get a decent sound card, too.
about HDMI. The DisplayPort can be used w/ an adapter for dual HDMI.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

Ok after looking at an HD 6870 it has 1 hdmi, 2 dvi, and 2 mini ports. What are the mini ports for? You say an adapter, any specific adapter?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

A mini displayport to HDMI adapter. You could also use a DVI to HDMI adapter.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

If I would like 2 hdmi ports would it be best to get 2 cards? Why I am asking that is that converting dvi to hdmi will only get video and won't get sound. That way 2 cards, 2 hdmi both with sound.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: What do I need to make this work?

If he isn't gaming, youre wasteing money... ANY video card will do what you want.

Outputting to a tv is NOT a graphically demanding task. The resolution is no more than a standard lcd monitor. My laptop with a 9600m gt does it in bluray just fine.

You don't need 2 HDMI as monitors don't get sound like that, and i'd frankly want my sound out of bedtter computer speakers than the crappy monitor ones.

So is he gaming? cause $250 plus for a card just for a dvi is a total waste.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I make this work? maximas Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-27-2010 05:15 AM
HELP, trying to make my PS1 work on an LCD TV??? Joeyboy Sony Playstation 5 08-05-2008 08:45 PM
New PC, Need to make sure it will work web_scripter New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-05-2007 07:02 AM
htf can i make this work? f15h Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-02-2005 10:49 PM
is it possible to make a disk work, when its not? crayon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-06-2005 03:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.