What do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default What do I need?

I have a dell just so you all know.
Its a Dell Dimesion 4600.
The case is really small and I heard that you cant put a new power supply in dell cases?
I also know I need a new video card, Im just not sure if my specs will bottleneck a 6600gt or a 6800.
I also dont know how to figure out if my mobo supports 8x?
This info is all from CPU-Z so...

Im also on a pretty tight budget.. about 400 dollars.

Specs:

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz

Northbridge Intel i865P/PE/G/i848P rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801EB (ICH5) rev. 02
Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Revision 3.0
AGP Transfert Rate 4x

512MB DRR-SDRAM PC3200 (200 MHz)

Nvidia Geforce2 MX 400

170W Power Supply
__________________

Execute is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Just get a new case and psu. New case is up to you. PSU, got to get pc power and cooling one as its propritary to dells.
http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...php?show=T425D will be the only one that works.

Upgrade that and gfx card.

eVGA 6600GT 128MB DDR3/AGP/TV-Out/Dual-DVI-159

Total minus case=$309 with no tax/shipping/handling.
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Which would be cheaper?
Just buying a new case and then a power supply or just getting that power supply?
Execute is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Would my stuff fit in this case?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208008
Execute is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Dell mobos typically don't fit into normal cases. Your best bet is to just upgrade the gfx card and psu.

For the PSU you NEED to get a Dell specific one. Here is a link where you can find one:

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...supplies/dell/

A 6600GT or 6800 (AGP Version) would be fine in there...
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 02:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Dude, i gave him a link to the only one that fits. GFX card he should buy. I didn't suggest a new case or motherboard.

Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default

I really dont want to spend 150 on a power supply.. what if I bought a new mobo and a new case that came with a power supply?
That seems to be a better idea BUT would all of my old stuff fit in it?
Execute is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Just building a whole new computer sounds good but your budget doesn't work well for that.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default

How much will I need?
__________________

Execute is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.