What do I need 4 a new PC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2008, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default What do I need 4 a new PC?

Hi guys, it's time for me to upgrade or to renew my computer, i'm a CGI guy and i need advices about HW for using Photoshop and 3Dsmax at maximum performance. a friend suggested me sometinhg like this:

- MotherBoard Asus P5K P35
- Processor 3MB E7200 CORE 2 DUO CONROE
- HDD 500GB 32MB S2 SEAGATE
- Memory CEON 2GB DDR-2 800MHZ
- Graphic Card SAPPHIRE X3650 DDR3 512MB PCIE
- Power supply EZCOOL LED 12CMF400W REAL
- DVD/R+ H55N LG DVDX20 DL
is there anybody can approve this or advise me for something else, guys i really need help, pleeeeaaaase...!


10x in advance

blackzubi
__________________

Blackzubi is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: What do I need 4 a new PC?

The E7200 is good for overclocking if you plan on overclocking. The q6600 Is a really good quad core and it is only $209, that would probably be a better choice. An 8800GT or 8800GTS would be a better choice then the 3850. Some more RAM would be better, and a maybe a bigger Power supply (not sure how a 400 watt will do, I don't know much about power supplies.) But other then that It should be fine.

also if you get a q6600 it would be a good idea to get this heatsink: Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

also maybe another motherboard, one that can SLI/Crossfire whichever way you go.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: What do I need 4 a new PC?

For 3ds and photoshop I would get 4GBs of Ram since it will it eat up. I would also get a quad core as it will almost cut your rendering times in half using 3ds. You might need a stronger power supply and to use 3ds at max performance you are definitely going to need a higher end graphics card or you're going to have some serious polygon limitations.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What do I need 4 a new PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackzubi View Post
Hi guys, it's time for me to upgrade or to renew my computer, i'm a CGI guy and i need advices about HW for using Photoshop and 3Dsmax at maximum performance. a friend suggested me sometinhg like this:

- MotherBoard Asus P5K P35
- Processor 3MB E7200 CORE 2 DUO CONROE
- HDD 500GB 32MB S2 SEAGATE
- Memory CEON 2GB DDR-2 800MHZ
- Graphic Card SAPPHIRE X3650 DDR3 512MB PCIE
- Power supply EZCOOL LED 12CMF400W REAL
- DVD/R+ H55N LG DVDX20 DL
is there anybody can approve this or advise me for something else, guys i really need help, pleeeeaaaase...!


10x in advance

blackzubi
scrap what you have right now...

I'll keep whats decent in the build..

- MotherBoard Asus P5K P35
- HDD 500GB 32MB S2 SEAGATE
- Graphic Card SAPPHIRE X3650 DDR3 512MB PCIE
- DVD/R+ H55N LG DVDX20 DL

Thats fine because you just need a board supporting Quad-Cores, for 3dsmax you don't need a gaming GPU so don't listen to 35g700 about the HD 3850.... you can probably settle with a FireGL Video Card or buy a Radeon 2xxx series card and softmod it to a FireGL Video Card, maybe you might consider more HD Space with 3dsmax, and I guess you could use a DVD-RW Drive??

ok so pick up these to go with what I have up there

q6600 - Quad-Core processor would be useful for you
4gb-8gb RAM- that'll be useful because its a demanding program
64bit Operating System- takes advantage of all the RAM
Rosewill RP550-2 - thats enough Processing Power for what I've listed
Arctic Freezer Pro 7- keeps the q6600 cool, because its going to run hot if you load it all the time
Maybe a larger sized HD (if you need it)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.