What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2010, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM?

Hi.

I just noticed one set of RAM sticks I purchased say DDR3 4GB PC1 RAM.

The other set of RAM sticks say this: DDR3 4GB PC2 RAM.

Is there a major difference between PC1 and PC2 RAM, and if yes, can you tell what the difference is?

Thanks,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 08-08-2010, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Alive.777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: QLD, Australia
Posts: 201
Default Re: What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM?

Do the two different ram modules have different clock speeds?. PC is just a number that is the result of the MHz multiplied by 8. Which will mean one should have a higher clock speed than another.
__________________

__________________
--//((SYSTEM))\\--
Core i7 930 @ 3.7ghz --- ASUS GTX 580 Voltage Tweak Edition @ Stock --- Gigabyte X58A UD7R --- 6GBs Corsair XMS 3 1600MHz --- HAF 932 --- Corsair HX850W --- Zalman Cnps10x Extreme Cooler --- Intel X25M 80GB SSD --- Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB --- Samsung BX2450 1080p.
Alive.777 is offline  
Old 08-09-2010, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alive.777 View Post
Do the two different ram modules have different clock speeds?. PC is just a number that is the result of the MHz multiplied by 8. Which will mean one should have a higher clock speed than another.
Alive,

Yes, that sure makes sense.

These are A-DATA RAM, one set is listed as 1600 MHz, the other as 2000MHz.

Can anyone here help me to adjust the BIOS so that I can go from 1333 MHz up to 1600 MHz, and from 1333 MHz up to 2000 MHz with these babies?

I would appreciate any help on this.

Thanks,

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 08-09-2010, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM?

Your RAM all runs at the same speed. This is set using the RAM multiplier in your BIOS. Unfortunately, you probably will not be able to get the 2000MHz performance out of that one stick because the 1600MHz stick is the limiting factor. That said, you can always try and see if it's stable. My OCZ Gold 1600MHz runs OK around 1800MHz so you may be able to get there. Just play with the RAM multiplier to get it (RAM speed is BCLK*RAM multiplier*2, DDR is double data rate so that's where the 2 comes from). Due to this, BCLK overclocking of your CPU also affects your RAM (CPU speed is BCLK*CPU multiplier).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-09-2010, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Your RAM all runs at the same speed. This is set using the RAM multiplier in your BIOS. Unfortunately, you probably will not be able to get the 2000MHz performance out of that one stick because the 1600MHz stick is the limiting factor. That said, you can always try and see if it's stable. My OCZ Gold 1600MHz runs OK around 1800MHz so you may be able to get there. Just play with the RAM multiplier to get it (RAM speed is BCLK*RAM multiplier*2, DDR is double data rate so that's where the 2 comes from). Due to this, BCLK overclocking of your CPU also affects your RAM (CPU speed is BCLK*CPU multiplier).
Calc,

Hey thanks for replying! BTW, how is school? Have you begun the new semester?

Our new school year here began in late July [we are on the modified traditional schedule].

Well, aren't there other variables that affect stability? I wish Slay would help me he is an expert in this area...but I think he doesn't like me anymore.

Anyway, I was hoping someone could help me to gain the 1600 MHz on the one pair, and see how we can get the 2000MHz rated pair [use each separately of course].

Calc, good to hear from you. Have a great summer, what's left of it.

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM?

Voltage definitely affects stability, but generally it will work fine at or under the rated speeds. You will have no problem hitting 1600MHz on the two sticks. After that it's really trial and error to see how far your 1600 stick will overclock. If you're lucky it may hit 2000MHz but most likely it will be around 1700-1800MHz without pushing the voltage too high. If you use each stick separately it should hit 2000 no problems.

To set it to 1600, set the RAM multiplier to 6 (133*2*6 = 1596, close enough). To hit 2000 you'll have to increase BCLK, as increasing the RAM multiplier to 8 goes above 2000MHz.

As for school, I haven't started yet. Have 2 more weeks, finish my job this week and get next week off before school. Can't wait to go back with my new PC though
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a question about DDR3 ram and this mobo -RockMan- System Upgrades 6 06-19-2010 10:39 AM
DDR3 RAM cnico88 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 10-15-2009 06:37 AM
DDR3 the future of RAM? erindalton420850 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-18-2009 07:11 PM
Good DDR3 RAM for x58 EVGA? StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-14-2008 07:22 PM
DDR3 Ram Sticks Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 1 09-10-2007 08:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.