What can i do to.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default What can i do to....

to cut down the price of my gaming/normal use computer... ive already changed a lot like getting a cheap keyboard & mouse, cheaper processor and 1 gig ram instead of 2. but i styll need to cut down maybe like 200 more dollars, or 150 is good enuff, can u guys please see if i could get anything cheaper on any of these items that wouldnt make a HUGE difference..

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0 GHz Socket 939 (maybe a 3000+ if not a big difference?)

Power Supply:Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550 ATX12V 550W (do you guys think a 480 W one would be more than enough to power these specs?)

Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6800GS PCI-E 256MB (i once considered the 6600GT, but i heard how bad it was..)

Dvd Burner(BLACK): NEC ND-3550 16x Double Layer (I like NEVER BURN ANYTHING AT ALL but one of my friends says i have to have a drive that can read DVDS because games will be put on DVD instead of CDS.. and he said my hard drive ^ cant read dvds....is that true? if not i wil not get this..)

LCD Monitor: ViewSonic Xtreme VX922 19" 2 ms 650:1 (this i styll dont know about.. its so expensive.. but i really dont know any other monitor i can get becuz every1 says this monitor is the "best" and its "perfect")

p.s - this isnt my full system becuz the stuff i didnt post up was not important and was cheap enough. these r the only things i'm worried about... thanks.
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

the monitor .. .if oyur making a budget pc why d oyou need an excellent monitior just get like an 8ms or 12 ms i dont see any ghosting on my screen but yea hthats goingt odrop the price alot .. keep the proc and the ram was a smart choice my frien
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

hmm, got any monitors in mind that u might recommend me, i want 19 inch for sure though. and thanks for the help i will look into the lcds more.
123Justin is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

is crt monitors an option, they're kinda cheaper than lcd and offers exceptional performance.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

get the X1600 PRO
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

haah i really wanna go with a CRT, that way i can maybe upgrade to 2 gigs of ram.. but the thing is my desk aint really got that much room you know, unless u can find me a pretty small one. the width of my desk is approximately 50 cm, so u think u can find a crt that is 30 cm or less in width becuz i dont want the screen RIGHT in front of my face, my eyes will hurt a lot.. thanks.
123Justin is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

u could go with a forton 450w psu. and i know of an acer lcd monitor thats not as good as that viewsonic but its good enough and its around 215? i think
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

can u show me?
123Justin is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get the 4ms model of that monitor instead.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

50 bucks off, not cheap enuff ahah..... hey i found one that might just do it...

http://canadacomputers.com/index.php...410&cid=MT.983

anyone know anything about that monitor? is it good enough to play games with my 6800GS on 1280x1024 resolution??
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.