What cable do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 01-28-2012, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Question What cable do I need?

I'd like to add a question to that first post: This is my first time building desktop and I had a friend review all the components that I connected together and even though he hasn't built one in a while, he says that I'm missing a ribbon cable from the mother board to the internal burner. I have this PSU [Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750M 750W ATX12V v2.31(Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750M 750W ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular High Performance Power Supply)]
connected to the internal burner. He also mentioned that since I have 2 hard drives, I need cables that come from the internal burner to the hard drives to dictate the primary drive. Is he right? If so, which cable(s) do I need to get?

Old 01-29-2012, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n

Default Re: What cable do I need?

If you bought an IDE DVD burner then you need an IDE cable, if you bought a SATA DVD burner then you need a SATA cable. You do not need any cable between the DVD drive and the HDDs.

There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
Old 01-29-2012, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

I have a MSI 22X Internal Black Burner (Newegg.com - MSI 22X Internal Burner 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black IDE Model DH-22AP). So I guess an IDE? Also I got a whole bundle including the tower but why would newegg ship me the bundle if they don't include the cables I need for the internal burner and motherboard? I'm going to call newegg tomorrow and see what's up if that's the case. Thank you for the quick response kmote