What is the best Intel processor for about 200$-250$ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default What is the best Intel processor for about 200$-250$ (conroe question)

Ok hear me out on this dont say "dont go with intel AMD is much better" for those of you who want to post that go somewhere else.

ok i was looking at the conroe benchmarks on anandtech and decided to search the mobo they tested it with and it came out to be a s775 board so i got to thinking if i got a s775 mobo, i could upgrade to conroe alot eaiser than if i were to go with an AMD CPU and then uupgrade to conroe. but im still wondering if conroe would work in s775 mobos that are made now.

if canroe CPU's will work in a current s775 mobo then i want to know the best intel CPU i can get for a good price that fits my budget (1300$) so does anyone know a good s775 CPU for about 200 or 250$


Im thinking about this Pentium d with a presler core
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

Man this cpu is the one i have and it works awsome... my comp boots fast and as soon as the screen pops up u can click anything an it launches...games work great to,but that relies more on ur video card i think.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ductCode=80826
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I doubt that the motherboard out right now will work with the conroe core. I htink the only way it might work is if the motherboard manufacturer comes out with a update to support but i doubt that will happen.

Dont spend the money on the Pentiums D's they suck ***, ur better off just going with this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116196
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You have to get an intel 965 board or higher in order to use conroe.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.