What is the best GPU I can get with a very reliable 350W psu? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 05:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default

Hmm ok one more thing, I got some links that say the PNY and the XFX 7800GT have a requirement of 350W and 20A on the 12V

http://www.xfxforce.com/media/series...3/T70G_UDF.pdf

http://www.pny.com/products/verto/pe...nce/7800gt.asp

What do you guys think of this, if this seems beleivable, should I go for it?
__________________

Solid Runner is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 02:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yeah, but I wouldn't get a card from XFX again, my card died with a month left on the warranty.

BFG and eVGA have lifetime warranties, and my BFG 7800gt hasn't had a problem.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default

Yes but this is just for the purpose of showing that the requirements are lower than normally advertised. I don't think there would be a higher requirment for the EVGA, would there?
Solid Runner is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Should you

I am a noobie but i do know not to just get the MINIMUM requirements for anything cause it will usually barely work, if at all
ESPECIALLY ON COMPUTERS

So just for now get a powersupply around 400 or 450 with a good reliable company (dont get something 2 good 2 b true) usually is
Good Luck
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

I've heard good and bad things about XFX...?

What's up with them? What exactly is good/bad about them? I have a 6800gs (in my sig) and it's been running fine since I've had it. It artifacts if i put it above 545 though.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

The problem with your graphics card probably has nothing to do with the PowerSupply it may just be the cards limit to overclock
So just because u cant overclock it any more, doesnt mean its the Power Supply
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

350 Is the minimum for the video card listed I'm sure a CPU, Motherboard, Hard Drives, and fans are also using the power supply you should upgrade.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default

Well I used this site to calculate the power usage with the rest of my stuff
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

and it came out at around 315W
Solid Runner is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:45 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the rule of thumb is you add at least 50w to the calculation you make about power usage to cover your bases
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default

Hmm ok, then it should still be fine, when I posted i thought i should round my Wattage number off to something that wasn't so weird, my exact wattage is 364W
__________________

Solid Runner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.