What 2x1GB kit should I get? DDR400 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2005, 09:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Am i right about the BH-5s?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Dunno, I haven't seen any 1GB BH-5 modules so I don't think so...but I might be wrong...that said 1GB BH-5s wouldn't yield as good of results as 512MB modules as they'd need more voltage in the first place to sustain the 2-2-2 timings

I haven't really looked into 1GB modules to be honest
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

WEll i know about the voltage so thats why i was thinking BH-5s for 1gig modules. Correct me if im wrong but i was under the impression that the BH-5s took more voltage than anything else.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeas, BH-5's use more voltages. TCCD's are good because they don't need as much to get higher speeds
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 10:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
WEll i know about the voltage so thats why i was thinking BH-5s for 1gig modules. Correct me if im wrong but i was under the impression that the BH-5s took more voltage than anything else.
Well yeah you're right...but what I'm saying is 1GB modules need more vdimm fed to them in the first place...512MB BH-5 chips already need around 3.1v to run 2-2-2 timings DDR400 so no doubt 1GB modules would need even more vdimm given meaning you have a smaller vdimm headroom for overclocks
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

So if i had a good board or maybe a voltage mod that could do 4v would i get a good OC?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 12:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I actually didn't order any of the parts today. I was too busy at work. But, i'm going to order something tomorrow. Should I go with the tried and true DFI UT Lanprty SLI-DR? I'm not thinking about SLI right now, but may-be down the road if UT2007 shows improvement with SLI, i'll pick up another 7800GTX.

I might just go with the first GSKILL I linked.

My main concern really is getting the X2 4400+ to 4800+ speeds and possibly beyond, which I hear is possible.

I was going to wait awhile longer to build, but my X800XT PE is crapping the bed as we speak and i'm not buying antoher AGP card now.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

The SLI-DR is a good choice. You dont have to have SLI to get the SLI-DR.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Well, i'm not interested in SLI now, but may-be somewhere down the road. "gaara - shakes his head" lol.

My main concern is OCin' the X2 4400+
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

You could buy the regular Ultra-D and then mod it too allow SLI. You would save some money doing that. I bought the 2x1gb G. Skill Extreme Series ram but i havent built the computer for it yet and thus havent tried OCing. Its cheap and has great timings.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.