Westinghouse 22" Widescreen lcd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default Westinghouse 22" Widescreen lcd

What do you guys think about this monitor? http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1142292834310

I found it In the Sunday papers Best-buy add. I was thinking about picking one up tomorrow I know the pro's and con's of gaming on a wide-screen. All the new games I play support wide-screen except BF2

Would you buy it for gaming? If no, What gaming LCD would you buy for under $400?

TIA
__________________

__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 02:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Same brand as my fridge! :P

In all seriousness, that looks like a bloody amazing screen. Response time is great, so you shouldn't get any ghosting.. I'd buy it if I had the money!
__________________

Khann is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 05:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

My my that is a beauty!
I think I'll pick one up myself ^^
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I have a westinghouse 17" it's very nice. I suggest going with it for that price.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Thanks guys, I didn't get a chance to go to best buy yet But I might go there today

I was looking at my available screen resolutions in the "windows display settings / ATI control panel", And 1680x1050 is not in there.

When I install the monitor, Will it install a 1680x1050 option in the windows or ATI display settings? or dose my graphics card not support 1680x1050?

Thanks
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 55
Default

You can check out Powerstrip to customize the display settings. Just google it.

That's a very good price, even without the $80 off. Nice options on the inputs, as well ... with component you can use it as an HDTV if you like.
__________________
\"A revolution without dancing is a revolution not worth having.\" V, V for Vendetta
jmhill1976 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 08:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Well, I bought it

Man this thing is frikin' awesome, It's super sharp/clear.

It's plug and play, So I plunged it in, turned my PC on and the fun began

The 1680x1050 setting appeared in my display options, So I didn't have to use power-strip.

The back light dose bleed though around the edges, But you can only see it when the screen is all black.

it has 2 built in speakers(i think, hahah) I turned the volume all the way up and I put my head right next to the monitor, I could barely hear the sound, These speakers are a joke!! My headphones are louder sitting under the monitor

I am very happy with my first LCD and my first wide-screen the color is very bright and vibrant, And the picture is so clear. I would recommend this monitor to anyone that wouldn't be bothered by a little back light bleeding.

I'll get some pics of the back light bleeding though tomorrow.

Thanks for all the help
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 12:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

lol it took u less than one day, normally people take weeks upon buying something
alexsabree is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
lol it took u less than one day, normally people take weeks upon buying something
Haha, agreed. Its like, i think ill buy....oops, already bought it...
__________________

Inferno is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.