western digital raptor 10k - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 12:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Milan
doesnt the new 150gb raptor have 16mb cache? plus it has 10k rpm and sata150
I've stopped looking @ them so idk.

But that thing would probably be very pricy, where i have a fast 250gig drive for a tad over $100.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Milan
doesnt the new 150gb raptor have 16mb cache? plus it has 10k rpm and sata150
Yup
__________________

Chris_PC is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 01:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Milan
doesnt the new 150gb raptor have 16mb cache? plus it has 10k rpm and sata150
The benchmarks of the new 150GB raptor are pretty impressive.
The one I was looking at put the drive in the middle of the pack with Enterprise SCSI Drives, even 15K drives. It also out performs Seagate Drives in RAID 0.

I'll try to find the link and edit this post later... I think it was at www.storagereview.com (I think?)

If you can stomach spending $300 on a 150G drive... It will more then pay for it's self in performance...

There is another drive the RaptorX with a clear window on the drive. I wouldn't buy that drive unless I had one of those arcylic clear cases, with the drive mounted sideways so it can be seen from the side. "Otherwise, it's about as useless as tits on a bull."
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 01:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

I have the Raptor 150GB, I like it. I'll get another one soon for a striped configuration...
__________________

__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.