western digital raptor 10k - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 04:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default western digital raptor 10k

would you guys recommend me getting a 10k raptor hdd there bit pricey tho just for a hard drive is it really worth it
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 05:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

well the extra bandwidth REALLY cuts loading times for windows, games & makes you everyones favourite person at LAN parties
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 06:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

if gaming is at the top of your priority list then yes you should buy the HDD or you could buy two 7200RPM drives and RAID 0 which is also quite good for performance. If you don't intend on playing a lot of games though, then just get a single 7200 drive of SATA stylings, pfffft IDE.
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 06:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by filocardhustler
if gaming is at the top of your priority list then yes you should buy the HDD or you could buy two 7200RPM drives and RAID 0 which is also quite good for performance. If you don't intend on playing a lot of games though, then just get a single 7200 drive of SATA stylings, pfffft IDE.
pffft IDE my ***, id still buy one if my IDE werent full
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 07:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

that's interesting because IDE really doesn't have anything over SATA as a cable, IDE is only cheaper by around 5-10 dollars.
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it's not even that much anymore. When I was shopping, the prices were like $1.50 and $2 different.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to Milan Send a message via Yahoo to Milan
Default

sata cables just look cooler than IDE cables and sata cables arent as bulky...so like filo said, "pfffft IDE"
Milan is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

For the price of one Raptor you can buy two SATA Seagate Barracudas with NCQ and RAID0 them together.

The performance of them is pretty close to that of the Raptor, with about four times the storage.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

If you get one of the SATA drives w/ 16mb cache you'll fly. You pay less than for the raptor and get more space. Speed will overall be the same, but i have both a 36gig raptor(10K) and a 250gig 16mb Western digital (7.2K), and they seem about the same.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to Milan Send a message via Yahoo to Milan
Default

doesnt the new 150gb raptor have 16mb cache? plus it has 10k rpm and sata150
__________________

Milan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.