WEB hosting servers... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 12:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dawizhacker
I really want to learn how to do it my self, but thx anyways for the offer.

Can you tell me some decent parts? 5000$ budget.

Also what is raid-1?
Raid-1 is data mirroring. Basicly, you have two harddrives where data is identicle on each. If one goes bad, you replaced it (with one called a hot spare). Your data is safe because you have two copies. It is also a little faster than one harddrive.

Setting it up is not always easy and requires some knowledge.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Building a server is just way too much effort for what he wants. Your standard home broadband connection isnt going to cut it. You will have to pay a good deal of cash per month for an internet connection capable of handling a good amount of traffic on a website.

Just go through a web hosting service. You can buy a domain cheap, even in some cases get it for free with a package deal, and pay like $10 a month for hosting.

For instance, I have a website hosted through 1&1, and my domain name is registered with them as well. I pay $10 a month for their business package. The package includes 20 GB or storage space and 1,000 GB of monthly transfer/bandwidth capacity. What that means is I can store up to 20 GB of information on the server to be available on my website, and I'm allowed 1,000 GB of downloads per month for people who visit the website. So you should check to see what hosting companies are available to you.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

1&1 is not known to be very good...

He also wanted to host other people too.


Dawiz, if you have aim, please contact me. My handle is Sevoma973
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

I wasn't advertising like you, just trying to explain to him. I just fail to see how pushing someone who knows nothing about hosting a website into creating his own server and hosting other people's websites is a good thing. You have to walk before you can run...
cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

me and my budy are running a webserver behind Charter Cable, on a dual PII 400 with windows server 2003 running IIS, and i have to say its very easy, and we're doing it all for free, the only thing you'll have to pay for is the domain if you want a real domain, we're doing it with dynamic addresses, and we only reset the router when we need to, otherwise our address has stayed the same since he got it.

ps...does anyone know if it usually costs any more to have a static IP from the ISP rather than a dynamic?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Thats why I told him both. I am just trying to help him, I was in his position at one time.

Anyway, more about 1&1:
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread...ighlight=1and1
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread...ighlight=1and1
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread...ighlight=1and1
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread...ighlight=1and1

You can find more with a search there...


I do agree with Cedjunior on the server thing though. You are problably not ready. Your best bet right now would be to go with shared hosting and mabey try having your own server later. You won't have to worry about hackers, patches, updates and all of that stuff if you go shared.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IBMan
me and my budy are running a webserver behind Charter Cable, on a dual PII 400 with windows server 2003 running IIS, and i have to say its very easy, and we're doing it all for free, the only thing you'll have to pay for is the domain if you want a real domain, we're doing it with dynamic addresses, and we only reset the router when we need to, otherwise our address has stayed the same since he got it.

ps...does anyone know if it usually costs any more to have a static IP from the ISP rather than a dynamic?
Yes, it most definitely costs more to have a static ip. You should problably check if it is against your isp's tos to have a server.

A problem with hosting a server on your cable line is
1. the dynamic ip address, and 2, the slow upload. They are not meant to have servers. They cap your upload speed.

As for a server OS, I recommend Linux or BSD. I use linux, thats what I am most comfterbal (sp?) with. For a business server, I would not use Windows as it is prone to hackers.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

kk, thx for explaining raid Sevoma.

So would it be cheeper in a 5 year run to buy a server? or pay the 10$ a month... 10$*12$=120$+20=140$*5=700$ I cans save MYSELF 700 bucks if i buy it...plus i will ba able to host other people.

How do i get a fatester connection? does shaw offer that? or should i go with a 3rd party internet connection? like t1 or something?
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Alright. Well, can you recomend a good server provider around Victoria British Columbia Canada?

My PM box is empty now...i saw you tryed to pm me...
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Well, for now I recommend shared hosting. It will be cheaper imo.

If you run a server on a cable line, it will be slow. You also have to pay for electricity.

Getting T1 is waaay to expensive. It will cost you problably ~1k monthly. That is most likley not an option.

If you go shared, you do not have to worry about security threats and other things. Just go with a good web hoster and you should be fine.

If you do practice administering linux and ar confterbal (sp?) with it, mabey you could try a test server before buying one.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.