Which way to go - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Default Which way to go

I've always been a AMD fan and I'm getting ready to upgrade. My problem is to either go with AM2 or switch to Intel ( conroe ) either way it will be a new Mobo, Cpu and memory. If I go with AM2 will it be compatiable with the new CPU's coming out next year if not then what would be the best setup for the money. This is my current setup.

My System
Asus AN8 SLI Premium mobo
Amd 64x2 4400+ dual core cpu
Enermax 600watt psu
2 6800 GS Evga 256mb boards
2 gb of Cosair dual channel pc3200 (4 x 512 )
Pri. HD WD 10,000 rpm 74gb sata raptor
Sec > HD WD 7200 rpm 250gb sata
HP DL DVD lightscribe burner
NEC DL DVD burner
Case Aspire Navigator
__________________

colt1911 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

Definatly go with conroe, it will totally blast past any cpu out right now, it will be a little more expensive(motherboard) but you will thatnk yourself later.
__________________

luke87 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah, Intel is the way to go only if yu don't get the e6300. It is the worst of the conroe series even though It overclock like mad.
Am2 will be back compat but the cpu's still wont be better that the conroes by far.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

well yeah amd pretty much sucks right now, but i think the next genamd cpu is going to kick major ***. way better then the conroe. i say save up.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

go with what you know... if you like AMD then get AM2. if your looking for bragging rights and want to overclock like mad and have the "best" system for about 2 weeks then go for the bandwagon (Conroe)

The Conroe series are good chips, don't get me wrong... but the hareware right now are killer expensive... mob's alone will cost 150 or more... even the cheap one...

each company is trying to out perform the other so you will NEVER have the best for any great lenth of time...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
well yeah amd pretty much sucks right now, but i think the next genamd cpu is going to kick major ***. way better then the conroe. i say save up.
So just keep waiting forever? K8L wont be out for another year.

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
go with what you know... if you like AMD then get AM2. if your looking for bragging rights and want to overclock like mad and have the best system for about 2 weeks then go for the bandwagon (Conroe)

The Conroe series are good chips, dont get me wrong... but the hareware right now are killer expensive... mobs alone will cost 150 or more... even the cheap one...

each company is trying to out perform the other so you will NEVER have the best for any great lenth of time...
Dont mind him ^. Hes got something against Conroe, I dont know what.

Just study this bit. A cheap AMD AM2 motherboard still costs $100+. If you pair it with AMDs price equivalent of the E6300 processor, you get to buy a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ that costs $187. If youre lucky, this 2.2Ghz processor will overclock to 2.6Ghz, or somewhere around there.

Now lets see here. A good Core 2 Duo motherboard costs $150. The E6300 processor costs $193. Would you like to know the overclock you could get with this processor, on a $150 Gigabyte DS3? 3.4Ghz. Indeed, 3.4Ghz of sweet Core 2 Duo goodness. Note that AMD processors cannot even overclock to 3.4Ghz (and this is on air cooling), much less match the performance. Wanna know how fast an AMD X2 would have to be to match this processor? 4.25Ghz.

No AMD processor, single-core or dual-core, air cooling or liquid nitrogen, has EVER reached a speed of 4.25GHz.

So spend $287 and get 2.6Ghz in AMD speed. Or spend $343 and get 3.4Ghz in C2D speed, equivalent to 4.25Ghz in AMD speed? And get a processor that no AMD will touch as long as the K8 architecture is aroound.

Your call.
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

I just went through the same agonizing conundrum! What an exhausting experience! I'm not a Fanboy-type, but I just like AMD as a company better than Intel. I'm a sucker for underdogs.

In the end I did order up a E6400 conversion pkg.

I know that when AMD Quad-cores are released I will be trying one of those. I just couldn't resist giving the C2D's the old college try.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah. Conroe kicks as and It will be about 2 years for amd to catch up, and I love amd. Just love the intel tenology better.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

the statement about am2 board cost $100 is a lie lol
you can get a msi neo f for $76
OOO
reckliss is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

But to get a really good borad on the new side of things that he will beable to stll upgrade on is going to coast $150 so go with conroe. Much better, for a little more buck.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.