Wat the *** is raid? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 02:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Angry Wat the *** is raid?

I always see people saying " this mobo has raid0 and stuff"

Wat the *** is all this raid stuff?

I dont understand a thing on teh subject.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

http://www.acnc.com/04_01_00.html

RAID=Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks

the different RAID levels e.g. 0, 1, 0+1, 5 work differently

RAID 0 (striping) is 2 or more drives that are configured as "one", in doing so all data written to the "one" drive is split across them. this massively improves read and write performance because the data is transferred over several controllers. the downside to RAID 0 is that if one drive in the array fails all data is lost

RAID 1 (mirroring) 2 or more drives setup to mirror each other, e.g. 1 drive has all your data and every time you save something it saves identical data to the other drive keeping it backed up in case of failure

RAID 0+1 (mirroring and striping) basically a combination of the previous 2 arrays which provides security and speed. a RAID 0 array is setup to provide high performance storage and a RAID 1 array is used to keep it backed up in case of drive failure
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

thats where your hard drives gets pillaged, plundered and raped
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

so will raid work on all mobo's? or only certain ones?

ANd is it safe?
Can i take it away?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

it will work on mobos with raid controllers... (i'm really not sure if thats hardware or software... )

just see in the specs if it says it supports raid

yes its safe.

yes you can take it away.. if your'e using raid 0 then you'd just have to format your drives since it'd just be gibirish on the one drive.. if its raid 1.. i think you can just take one away and continue normally... just guessing tho... since i've never set up a raid config before
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

is it really worth the time?
i mean should i attempt to "raid" my hard drives?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if you have 2 indentical hard drives yes its worth it. not worth it if you have an 80gig and a 250gig.. you'll limit your 250gig to an 80 gig.. but if theyr'e the same, the space is still the same, but you get much better performance
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 04:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the thing is using RAID 1 or RAID 0+1 you only get half the array to be used as storage space.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Theres no point in RAID 0, unless you want to lose all your data
It gives a performance boost, yes, but a failure in 1 drive will lose data on both.

It's good for video editing and stuff, and you should keep your operating system in someplace else than RAID 0 drives.

RAID 1 is great for backuping, unless a virus or something like that destroys your data. But for a hard drive failure its a great backup method.
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 08:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
is it really worth the time?
i mean should i attempt to "raid" my hard drives?
That would be called JBOD, or, Just a Bunch of Disks. It takes multiple physical hard drives and makes your computer recognize them as a single logical drive. It's a neat idea, but it reall cuts performance, and I don't think most integrated RAID controllers support it; you'd probably need a PCI or PCIe x1 RAID controller to pull it off.
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.