it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2007, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

OMG, im soo excited but angry at the same time.

Here's the story, I bought the ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi at CompUSA, put everything together while and get paid to do it haha My boss told me to build it myself so I was on the clock and built my computer together.

Anyway, the stupid thing still did not post!!!! So we tried using a E6400 Processor that was opened and returned by a costumer and it still does not work. Apparently there are three things that can cause the motherboard to not post and that is if the CPU is dead, motherboard is dead and the Power Supply is not giving any power to the CPU.

So, we used a different power supply and it posted! that was on the E6400 without a heatsink haha cuz we didnt install the heatsink and it was returned by a costumer so we took the risk

Then we used my CPU the E6600 I bought at newegg and it posted using a different power supply. So we now believe it is the power supply that is wrong not the motherboard. Im angry because if we did this the first time i sent it to CompUSA I would not have end up returning the MSI motherboard which I will be charged 15% restocking and ordering the same one, and I will also be charged a 15% restocking fee when I return it because I no longer need it.

So now my build is the same except I have the ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi motherboard instead. I will have to contact newegg on monday to get an RMA on the Powersupply and just exchange it so I wont be charged a restocking fee.

I dont know but that Corsair is supposedly a good power supply but i guess i was just unlucky afterall.

So my computer is not running because i dont have a powersupply but it does run if i used a different power supply. Hopefully everything goes well when I get the replacement PSU.

Thanks for the help here, I will be posting in this site all the time, this is an awesome forum. I will greatly recommend this forum to my friends who are interested in computers
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

oh yea, i thought it was the psu but the people kept yelling mb

POST THOSE PICTURES ALREADY
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

Eh. I don't like that PSU. Everybody recommends it and the 520w model, but they're so overpriced for what they offer IMO. SO TAKE THAT! Deathawk 1 Corsair PSU's - 0.

But seriously, that sucks.. you end up paying a premium for reliabillity.. 160$ish dollars for a 620w PSU.. just for it to not work for you.. I woulda rather gotten something like this Newegg.com - mushkin 550200 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V cUL,CE,CB,FCC - Retail and pocketed the rest of the money.. but that's just me..

Good luck on everything ^^
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathawk View Post
Eh. I don't like that PSU. Everybody recommends it and the 520w model, but they're so overpriced for what they offer IMO. SO TAKE THAT! Deathawk 1 Corsair PSU's - 0.

But seriously, that sucks.. you end up paying a premium for reliabillity.. 160$ish dollars for a 620w PSU.. just for it to not work for you.. I woulda rather gotten something like this Newegg.com - mushkin 550200 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V cUL,CE,CB,FCC - Retail and pocketed the rest of the money.. but that's just me..

Good luck on everything ^^
I know i expected the PSU to work well. We assumed it was the motherboard because the psu was giving power to the fans and stuff but apparently not to the CPU
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
oh yea, i thought it was the psu but the people kept yelling mb

POST THOSE PICTURES ALREADY

here are the pictures of the box of the items...

My Build pictures......

If you want me to take pictures of the whole setup, i dont have the PSU inside cause i removed it getting ready to ship it back to newegg.

Does newegg cross ship PSU? I know they wont on CPU. Hopefully they do
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Apparently there are three things that can cause the motherboard to not post and that is if the CPU is dead, motherboard is dead and the Power Supply is not giving any power to the CPU.
ram not working correctly, being bad, or being overclocked too much or having timings too tight will prohibit post as well.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
ram not working correctly, being bad, or being overclocked too much or having timings too tight will prohibit post as well.
Oh i didnt know that ;D cool
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

it wont post but its turns on...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: it wasnt the motherboard!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
it wont post but its turns on...
????? What turns on? The motherboard still turned on even using the power supply but the CPU was not getting any power thus basically no post since the motherboard does not know there is a CPU installed since no power is given to it.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM
Which MotherBoard Would you get? shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-01-2007 03:27 PM
Motherboard Post Code E0 PeeWee Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-24-2007 12:20 AM
What? My motherboard is not Quad Compatible? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-24-2007 12:09 AM
ram failure? or motherboard fried? adamussg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-07-2007 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.