Warning about OEM Operating systems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 06:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

Entering the product key is no problem. It's activating it that is hard.

Is there a way that Microsoft can track what hardware you're using on your PC? Like if I activate my PC the first time, they'll somehow know what motherboard I'm using, what CPU, etc.? Because I got away with installing Vista business on both my home PC and old laptop at one point. I just made sure that one PC was turned off and disconnected to the Net before I called in for activation.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

If you change motherboard or significantly change your system hardware and have to reinstall windows, just activate by phone and explain it to them. Microsoft will give you the activation code.
__________________

__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

no they dont send any information back like that, all they would know is how many times it would have been activated, but they dont seem to be bothered, they will ask u if u have itinstall on an other pc but the ovbi answer would be no lol worth a try there not goin to track you down or anythin, if they start askin question just play old trick i cnt hear you!!! hello!!! hello!!! your breaking up!!! lol then put it down
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

So they will do it. Whew, that's good to know. I was thinking to upgrade my motherboard/CPU/RAM soon.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

wel i have been called out a few times the dell operating systems seems to always activate and they have 3 dell pcs so they are all mixed up so they could be 2 with same serial number
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

remember you are dealing with vista not xp im only goin off wt theysaid about xp but it didnt seem to matter.
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

I guess the best excuse is to just say, "I had a virus and so I have to do a reinstall". I've tried that before twice because Windows wouldn't activate unless I call them. They both work very well with no questions asked.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

yea just say ive been using windows firewall so i dnt know how it got in lol
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

Or what will be really funny is saying that Windows keep freezing up and so a reinstall was necessary. I don't know about Windows Repair though. Do you still have to activate it when doing a repair? Or does it only affect a complete reinstall of Windows?
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Warning about OEM Operating systems

u have to reactivate.
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM Operating Systems Erratic Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-16-2007 04:20 PM
Renaming operating systems at boot SuperTyphoon Microsoft Windows and Software 8 07-07-2007 04:52 PM
So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet... GRYT7 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 05-28-2007 12:56 PM
Question About Operating Systems With New Laptop? iamloco724 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-18-2007 05:19 PM
2 operating systems Norcent Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-09-2007 05:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.