Want to upgrade to Quad Core from my E6400, how much difference will it make for me? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 01:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Want to upgrade to Quad Core from my E6400, how much difference will it make for me?

Whats going on guys.

My specs are in my sig, so basically all I should say is that I am OC'd to 3.2 GHZ stable.

Obviously the Quad Core processor prices are going to be coming down soon (to around $300 I heard). If this is correct, I would like to purchase one. What I would like to know, considering there is not alot of use for 4 Core Technology (not yet, anyways), will I notice much of a difference in performance? For example, will I notice a majore FPS increase in my processor-limited games (like Flight Simulator X for example), or is too early for apps and games to take advantage of quad core technology? Another reason i am wanting a faster processor is in alot of my games, I still notice frame rate slowdown (especially FSX), but even older games like NASCAR Racing 2003 Season (granted, I am running 1680x1050, Max graphics, 8x AA, etc) but still, I would consider my system on the higher end of the spectrum, and Im still getting FPS slowdown!?!?!!?

Anyways, will the Quad core help? Plus I am coupling it with another 2x GB of Ram so I can get Vista......so basically a Quad Core and another 2x Ram upgrade...

Thanks for the help guys
Joe
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 03:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

No, we can barley use Dual-core. Your E6400 at 3.2ghz would be faster than a stock Quad Core.

In gaming dual-core is all thats worth it.


it''s just stupid to get a Quad-Core right now and in NO WAY will it help you.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Why am I still getting FPS slow down? Even in NASCAR racing 2003, which is 4 years old now, It still drops to around 25fps under alot of stress. What do I need to upgrade to make my games run smoother?!?! Especially Flight Simulator X
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default

Dude,
I think theres some virus/malware in your comp. Just reformat your HD. I suppose it will work fine. If that doesn't work out then maybe theres problem with your hardware. Its most likely that theres some virus/malware in your PC.
rokza is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

also if you have a 22" on ur pc then you will runnining at a high res
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

yeah i think its most likely the big-ish screen thats slowing things down abit, have you tried knocking down the resolution on the in-game settings to see if fps improve abit?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 12:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

hmmm. do you guys think that running at 1680 x 1050 should slow his card down that much?
i hope not, as i am thinking of getting one relatively soon with a new 22"monitor.
i would think that running the AA and AF at max would probably be more the problem than resolution....those settings maxed (especially AA) tax the crap out of any card.
O.P. try setting AA at least to like 4x or even 2x and see if you notice an increase in FPS vs image quality.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I don't think it's any of his hardware. I also believe there is malware or something becuase the 8800GTS 320 should not be slowed even at that res that much.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Want to upgrade to Quad Core from my E6400, how much difference will it make for

I have a 8800GTS 640MB, not 320MB. Also, I doubt if its any malicious adware. I just built the PC 2 months ago, have only been connected to DSL for a month
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 01:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Want to upgrade to Quad Core from my E6400, how much difference will it make for

i agree, theres probably nothing wrong with that pc hardware wise. its gotta be something else. i don't think any c2d at 3.2ghz should bottleneck a 8800gts 640mb..
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.