Is this VR ready? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2016, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
The_Yakattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 24
Default Is this VR ready?

CPU: CORE i7 6700K

GPU: 2x GTX 980 Ti

RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series, DDR4 3200, 16GB (1x 16GB)

GPU COOLER: Corsair H90

PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1200

MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7

STORAGE 1: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB

STORAGE 2: WD Black 2TB, 7200RPM

CASE: Corsair 760T (White)

OS: Windows 10 Home

Estimated around $2,970
__________________

The_Yakattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: Is this VR ready?

yup
__________________

__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Is this VR ready?

VR doesn't utilize SLI at the moment. PSU is too big for the machine really, motherboard too expensive, and you don't want RAM that fast because you'll run into stability issues.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,168
Default Re: Is this VR ready?

If you got the cash go big, def VR ready


Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
you don't want RAM that fast because you'll run into stability issues.
If this is the case, would this be a software problem causing the hardware fault?
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 06:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Is this VR ready?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iParanormal View Post
If you got the cash go big, def VR ready




If this is the case, would this be a software problem causing the hardware fault?
It's a case of IMC stability. Chips can't handle the higher frequencies due to bckl strapping.

Be a better idea to wait for Pascal honestly. IMO there isn't enough quality VR content to splurge on over a grand in GPUs right now.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reality, virtual, woah

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready D-Rocks System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 10:57 AM
almost ready ... tufreeh Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 10-12-2003 05:23 PM
Image Ready Help Needed mac_mogul Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-14-2003 11:55 PM
Drive not ready-system halted 2000Problems Microsoft Windows and Software 5 07-06-2003 12:38 AM
My PC is almost ready.. freechus9 Overclocking and Modding 6 04-30-2003 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.