Vista or XP? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2009, 06:46 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Vista or XP?

no, windows 7 uses the same kernels as vista, vista is upgradable to win7, XP is not
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 08:25 PM   #22 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Vista or XP?

Xp is upgradeable through a windows upgrade disc which essentially installs a new OS its all good and already been announced
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Vista or XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothch1ck View Post
They rewrote the Kernal files.
I've heard this bedtime story for over a year now. It's completely 100% false. Both the 32-bit and the 64-bit 7s use the same kernel as server08.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 02:40 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vista or XP?

XP definetly. Vista is extremely bloated. If you absolutely need DX10 then wait for Windows 7 as it is much lighter on resources than Vista. My XP vers. currently has Direct X 10.
scissorhands7 is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 02:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Vista or XP?

I'd go with Vista, because its pointless at this point to buy Windows XP for the same price as Vista, in addition, with a decent system it runs better in comparison XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by scissorhands7 View Post
XP definetly. Vista is extremely bloated. If you absolutely need DX10 then wait for Windows 7 as it is much lighter on resources than Vista. My XP vers. currently has Direct X 10.
You are using the Alky Project? That completely failed, I'm pretty sure it did
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 02:53 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vista or XP?

Yeah I'm using the Alky Project. You are correct that it no longer is in operation anymore, but as a failure, not really. Most games requiring DX10 work great on my XP. I did get the latest RC3 build which works well on most computers. It's not a 100% thing. I personally enjoy XP mainly for the customization.
scissorhands7 is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 03:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Vista or XP?

I'll stick with Vista/W7. I have XP on a drive right now, but as soon as my motherboard comes back from RMA, I'm backing up my data on my XP drive and replacing it with Vista. Been enjoying Win7 for the past 5 months or so now, though.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 06:07 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Vista or XP?

From server 08, yes, from XP pro, no.

See the original idea was to start from 100% scratch, however they scrapped that about 3 weeks into the job. So they based it on server 08's junk,but, tweaked it, and are pushing it for a "gamers market"


regardless how it happened, Microsoft actually made an OS that improves the performance of your PC, at stock settings for the OS none-the-less.

Which really gives a lot of hope for 7, even though its not the 'true gamer OS" we all hoped for.


Personal experience on the p3 I had with Win7, my games ran 5FPS faster, felt smoother over all, and I experienced much less "hang time" in between applications and games. Also, no crashes or BSOD's lol.
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 04:48 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Vista or XP?

I switched back from vista to xp. The all day stuff went slower with vista. Like copy pasting files or installing games/programs. Pressing the right mouse button on a file would have you waiting 2 seconds while with xp it's instant...
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 08:10 AM   #30 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Vista or XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Can you actually still buy XP, anyway?
OEM version, yes. They have discontinued the retail and upgrade versions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude112 View Post
I switched back from vista to xp. The all day stuff went slower with vista. Like copy pasting files or installing games/programs. Pressing the right mouse button on a file would have you waiting 2 seconds while with xp it's instant...
Very true.

I found that Vista was a magor drag on my system.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD problems yet again. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 36 08-25-2008 07:54 PM
Buying a Vista Laptop cyclones Laptops and Notebooks 23 08-01-2008 04:32 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.