Vista Prices Leaked - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 06:05 PM   #61 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

oh and...

a prebuilt computer you find at bestbuy isnt going to come with the 400$ version of vista for 500 bucks. probably only the home basic version, wich is only 100 for oem. so you wont be saving any money.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 06:07 PM   #62 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

thats true....the reason i dont like prebuilds is cause of support, warranty u have to pay for, software it comes with, pay doble for every part, etc..
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 06:13 PM   #63 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yeah what i meant to say was, if you CAN find a cheaper prebuilt than building then buy it. but chances are youre never going to find one for cheaper then you could build it, because then the companys wouldnt be making much money at all. but ya, your not going to find vista ultimate in a 400 dollar machine.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 07:48 PM   #64 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

yeah, its also fun to make ur own as well as the learning experience. Futhermore u intimately know every single part of your computer and it could be easier to diagnose problems, if u know what your doing......
__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 07:50 PM   #65 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

true, and if it breaks, it dont ccost crap to reinstall the os, while if its a dell or something and they ask you to send that ****er in, you get charged out ur ***, home build is free, besides parts

EDIT: also, now dont get me wrong, but how are macs doin now? like 4 years ago they sucked ***, they a lil better now? not gonna get one, just wondering. also if ne one knows, how does a macs preformance stack up against amd and intel(speed wize)?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:01 PM   #66 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

there a **** of a lot better speed wise, but iim not really sure why they went w/ intel and not AMD, cause well... i won't get into that here, but mac's still aren't as compatable and as widespread as PC's and software is a biach because they've switched from a PowerPC (ironic isn't it) infrastructure i.e. the CPU, to an intel infrastructure. So, only
some
of the softwear is "Universal" plus its really fricking expensive in contrast and last of all they have almost no games for mac......

but i'll eventually get a mac mini for basic tasks because they don't freeze (hardly ever)
__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:03 PM   #67 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

wow, i was kinda diggin that powermac g4 desktop, only one i like, but since mac's use intels then, well, what about the older macs, that use the sun chip or whatever its called? like the old imacs, and ....ill just google
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:13 PM   #68 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

wait...hold on a sec. if macs use intel now, dont that mean, theoretically, that they can run windows?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:22 PM   #69 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

yup!

(http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/)
__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 09:07 PM   #70 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
true, and if it breaks, it dont ccost crap to reinstall the os, while if its a dell or something and they ask you to send that ****er in, you get charged out ur ***, home build is free, besides parts

EDIT: also, now dont get me wrong, but how are macs doin now? like 4 years ago they sucked ***, they a lil better now? not gonna get one, just wondering. also if ne one knows, how does a macs preformance stack up against amd and intel(speed wize)?
or heres an idea, you can stick in the restoredisk they give you with the pc that has the OS on it.

and yeah, macs can run windows. windows cant run osx......................

.........legally
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.