To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2008, 03:44 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

I've heard how it is a memory hog, but I have 4 gigs of ram and would like to see Dx10 so why not? What do you guys think about using Vista 64 on a gaming rig??
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 05:46 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 174
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

I've always heard that 64 bit versions of windows aren't compatible with some games. This could have been changed for Vista, but I don't know.
__________________

Direland is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 03:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

depends. games over 10 years old might have problems. I play diablo 1 and ffxi on vista 64.

heck diablo 1 is over 10 years old now.

when i tried ages ago i couldnt play the original command and conquers. Though I think they may have fixed that when they released 'the last decade' c&c pack.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 04:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

64 bit os is much better as it allows all of your ram to be used (as it should be). and todays processors are pretty much made to take advantage of 64 bit operating systems. vista 64 does not seem to be as plagued with problems as xp64 is/was. i am going to try out server 08 and see how it works for me. i would love to be able to use 6+ gigs of ram...doing what? i have no idea. i would just like to be able to do it.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 11:16 AM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

i just re-formatted my entire PC becuase i added a RAID 0 array. I choose XP SP3.

I have not found the need to upgrade to vista yet becuase i see very little difference in DX10 graphics over DX9,
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:18 PM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

the only reall difference IMO is that some DX10 games will not allow you to run AA using DX9. not that big of a deal, if you ask me. if it gets so that ALL games being released have that problem, i might switch. i do like AA to the gills.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

Just get 32Bit, To my knowledge there is issues with 64bit and gaming. You won't have any performance issues. I'm running vista right now with a moderate amount of options on (Simply for looks) with an AMD 4000+ and only 1GB of run of the mill Ram.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:31 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

i just upgraded to vista 64 from xp 64 because of serious driver conflict issues causing my startup time to increase to 10 whole minutes ( i timed it cos i was so annoyed... :P ). vista uses about 700mb of my ram, but i havent had a problem with it as of yet, and i dont have any driver conflict issues. AS for the dx10 on xp, i tried it for xp 64, but it didnt work very well.... but thats probably cos xp 64 isnt supported for the dx10 on xp thingy (32bit dxdiag said dx10 but 64bit said dx9 so it didnt work). Im planning on sticking with 2gb ram atm till i get problems, i dont really want to use 4 sticks of ram cos i wanna oc my cpu more soon, and i dont want to get rid of my ballistix cos i spent £60 on them.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 03:03 PM   #29 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

Just try both lol. and get your own opinion.
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:39 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
i just upgraded to vista 64 from xp 64 because of serious driver conflict issues causing my startup time to increase to 10 whole minutes ( i timed it cos i was so annoyed... :P ). vista uses about 700mb of my ram, but i havent had a problem with it as of yet, and i dont have any driver conflict issues. AS for the dx10 on xp, i tried it for xp 64, but it didnt work very well.... but thats probably cos xp 64 isnt supported for the dx10 on xp thingy (32bit dxdiag said dx10 but 64bit said dx9 so it didnt work). Im planning on sticking with 2gb ram atm till i get problems, i dont really want to use 4 sticks of ram cos i wanna oc my cpu more soon, and i dont want to get rid of my ballistix cos i spent £60 on them.
you don't want to use 4 sticks of ram because you're going to OC your CPU?? Does using more ram mess up OCing the CPU??
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My thoughts on Vista Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-22-2008 10:31 AM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
Dual boot Question with Vista and XP (help appreciated) Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-29-2007 07:00 AM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM
Vista Home Premium Media Center Question db_21 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-19-2007 09:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.