Which vista to buy... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2008, 09:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
^^ There is no reason to get Ultimate. It only has a few extra features that are not worth the price increase over Home Premium.
Def agree there. Just get the OEM Home Premium linked above, it's the best way to go. Ultimate costs way more for a few features like file encryption that can be added via freeware anyways. There's no reason to spend all that extra money it's just a gimmick.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 04:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

I run x64 vista and have never run into a game that I couldn't play. As for unsigned drivers, yes this can be an issue, especially for RivaTuner and other overclocking software. Yet, there are 2 that I know of that don't require any reboots or driver signing, and they are EVGA's and Gainward's, both available at their respective sites.

The one app I do remember not having any support for x64 was the Microsoft Fingerprint Reader that I used in x32 before upgrading. They say they will never add x64 support for it's drivers, so aside from that, x64 support is A-Okay.
__________________

aeroplane22 is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 01:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

alright thanks for all the input guys, I think I will go with 64, it's the wave of the future so I'm sure things will work itself out.

thanks!
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 03:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

^most of the issues with 64bit are long fixed and most apps work with 64bit..you shouldn't have any problems (maybe the odd one) im getting hp 64 in a few months also.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 04:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

right on..
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 10:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

Calcprogrammer1 wrote:
Quote:
the only bad thing is that unsigned drivers are not allowed at all in 64 bit Vista SP1, which only affects a few apps (namely ATiTool and RivaTuner...can't overclock your graphics with these apps in 64 bit SP1 [not just Ultimate, any Vista 64 SP1 has the driver lock]).
I have 64 bit home premium vista SP1 and I ran rivatuner just fine and can oc my vid card with it no problems. I seem to recall it warning and asking about unsigned and I selected run anyway, could be wrong on that though, but it does run.
brewabeer is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Which vista to buy...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
Def agree there. Just get the OEM Home Premium linked above, it's the best way to go. Ultimate costs way more for a few features like file encryption that can be added via freeware anyways. There's no reason to spend all that extra money it's just a gimmick.
You're not the only one there. Originally I was looking to grab a copy of Ultimate at a pc show to find that they sold that out fast when Vista was first out. I was stuck with Home Premium or a wait. HP thank you!

The Ultimate sees more support for networking much like XP Pro saw that over the Home edition. It's no surprise like I mentioned earlier that many games will run on the 64bit as well as 32bit editions due to seeing more cross platform support and not simply written for one version only like some.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Go with vista 64 bit, or go with xp home av8706 System Upgrades 11 12-08-2007 10:24 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.