Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2007, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

Ok so i finally got around to testing out vist 64 home premium. Cant get my SLI and third video card to work right. After a little research to turn off the UAC at least that crap is gone. Ugh. Man this really does disappoint me, compared to how well xp has been running, im not happy. At least i havent activated it, so it can go on the shelf until such time as its stable.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

It's Vista, gotta give it time.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 11:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

Yep, Vista should still be in the Beta stage, they released it too early. I tried out the 32 bit version and didn't like it, so I went back to XP. Microsoft stated that Vista was good for security and faster, but in reality its a RAM hog, security went overboard to the point of it being annoying when it says "are you sure you want to do this?" everytime you want to click something, and its compatibility issues are huge. Microsoft really let me down with their new OS.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

Ya i'm trying, but no SLI and no 2nd monitor is a deal breaker. I'm dual booting it right now, so it'll become a project for when time allows. Just annoys me that its got the problems it has. It has a lot of promise, but ugh.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

So true. I remember one time I had one too many brews and I swear as I sat down at my computer Vista asked "are you sure you want to have another beer".
__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mediocremathmajor View Post
So true. I remember one time I had one too many brews and I swear as I sat down at my computer Vista asked "are you sure you want to have another beer".
lmao

imagine it doing a horrible loop cycle "are you sure that your sure that your pressing sure?" argghhh :freak:
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

"Are you sure you just turned the computer on?" I'm shocked it doesn't ask you that on start-up. Microsoft must have been on drugs when they came up with that great idea of over-doing the security features.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

I'd say, programmed properly, there is a pretty decent practical joke sitting somewhere inside the above mentioned "loop cycle".
__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

yep, the uac is the first thing i turned off in vista.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Vista 64 makes me sad in the pants.

Were there any improvements, with SLI, etc., after turning off UAC, or still having the same issues, just nanny mode gone?
__________________

__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Issue - Nero caused Blue Screen... Vista won't load now. Mantis-X Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-03-2007 05:11 PM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.